COLUMBIA COUNTY, PA BIOGRAPHIES

BLOOMSBURG

From "The History of Columbia and Mountour Counties"
Battle, 1887


 
HARMAN & HASSERT, car-builders, founders and machinists, Bloomsburg. This firm was established in 1875 by Peter S. HARMAN and George HASSERT, who still conduct the business. Their first start was in a building 60x50 feet, which was occupied as a foundry and machine shop, where they manufactured plows and stoves and did custom work with an annual business of about $2,000. In 1879 the business had grown to such an extent that they were obliged to enlarge their facilities by erecting additional buildings, increasing their capacity and employing from twenty to thirty hands. At the latter date they added the building of mining cars to the business and have so continued up to date. They make all kinds of castings and custom work, repairing of threshing machines, and the business averages about $55,000 per annum. The foundry and shops are located on the south end of East Street, near the D. & L. R. R. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 342)

GEORGE HASSERT was born in Reichensachsan, Hesse Cassel, Germany, November 5, 1824, a son of George and Elizabeth (WAGNER) HASSERT. He learned the trade of a mill-wright in his native country, and when twenty years old enlisted as a soldier in the German Army. He served some six years and participated in several bettles in the war between Denmark and Germany. In 1848 he was in the regular army at Baden, engaged in suppressing the rebellion, and was stateioned at Carlsruhe. He was wounded by a sabre in the forehead and chin at the storming of Dabbelar Fort in Denmark. After leaving the army he immigrated to the United States and located at Philadelphia, where he worked at his trade for four or five years. He came to bloomsburg in 1856, and worked at his trade until the present business was established. He was married in Philadelphia, February 12, 1854, to Magdalena DECKER, and to them were born the following children: Charles W., Henry, Annie, Elizabeth, Emma, Ella and George A. Mr. HASSERT is a member of the Lutheran Church; in politics a Democrat. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 342)

PETER S. HARMAN was born in Orangeville, this county, June 5, 1831, a son of George and Mary (KNORR) HARMAN. The father, a native of Northumberland County, was a very early settler in Columbia County, settling first at Mifflin and afterward at Orangeville. He was a tanner by trade for many years, and died at Orangeville in 1881. Our subject learned the trade of molder when but thirteen years old, with Louis H. MAUS of Bloomsburg, and followed it until establishing his present business as above stated. In 1861 he began on his own account in Mahanoy City, Penn., where he started and operated a foundry and machine shop for three years. Later he came to Bloomsburg and formed a partnership with B. F. SHARPLESS, under the name of SHARPLESS & HARMAN, which partnership continued four years, and, two years after dissolving the partnership, established his present business with Mr. HASSERT. Mr. HARMAN was married in 1856 to Rebecca FREEZE, and nine children were born to them, seven of whom are living: Grace, Fanny, Jennie, James Lee, Mary, John G. F. and Paul Zahner; Frank Freeze died aged five years, and Howard Fenton at the age of three years. The family attend the Episcopal Church. In politics Mr. HARMAN is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 342)

G. A. HERRING, farmer, P. O. Bloomsburg, was born in Orangeville, Columbia Co., Penn., December 13, 1833, to John and Rachel (SNYDER) HERRING. His great-grandfather, Christopher HERRING, came from Germany and located in Berks County, Penn., where his son Frederick was born. The latter married, in Berks County, Miss Susan BRIGHT, and they afterward removed to Columbia County, locating in Roaringcreek Township; thence to what is now Orange Township, bought land where Henry MELLICK now resides, and here lived until his death, which occurred in 1838, having been suddenly stricken with paralysis. He is buried in the Orangeville Cemetery. John HERRING, father of George A., was born in Lynn Township, Berks County, and when a boy of about eight years was brought by his parents to Columbia County. With them he remained until he was married, when he bought a lot in Orangeville on which he moved, and there followed the trade of a carpenter and joiner. He has now been a resident of that place for upward of half a century. He married in this county Miss Rachel SNYDER, also a native of Berks County, and who came to Columbia County with her parents when she was a child. To him and his wife nine children were born, six of whom are living: C. D., in Willkesbarre; George A., our subject; Priscilla, wife of John S. NEYHART, in Wilkesbarre; A. B., in Owensville; Calvin, in Orangeville, and E. R. in Kankakee, Ill. (the last two named are twins). The deceased are Rebecca, wife of Henry J. KNORR, and an infant unnamed. John HERRING is still a resident of Orangeville, but his wife died May 11, 1882. She was a member of the Lutheran Church. He is a member of the German Reformed Church. Our subject was reared in Orangeville until the age of eighteen years, when he began to learn the molder's trade. He then came to Bloomsburg and for three years worked at his trade for Lewis MOSS and also for Joseph SHARPLESS. He then went into partnership with his uncle, John SNYDER, then sheriff of the county, and together they conducted the Exchange Hotel one year. The next two years he spent in Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, and Illinois; then returned to Columbia County, and for the next two years worked at his trade. He then engaged in boat-building at Lime Ridge with a brother, C. D., for three years and for the next two years carried on the same business alone. He then moved to Shenandoah, Schuylkill County, and there engaged in mercantile business for twelve years, and for six years of that time was also engaged in the coal trade; thence he removed to Bloomsburg in April, 1876, and there carried on the tanning business until 1881. In 1879 he bought a farm of 130 acres in Mount Pleasant Township, and, since giving up the tanning business, has farmed. He married, at Lime Ridge, May 9, 1861, Miss M. A. HESS, a native of Mifflinville, Columbia County, and a daughter of Daniel and Priscilla (YOBE) HESS. Both her parents were natives of that township, but the YOBES were originally from Berks County, where Mrs. HERRING's grandparents were early settlers. Her father died July 29, 1850, and her mother October 24, 1880; both are buried in Mifflinville Cemetery. Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. HERRING, three of whom are living: Grant Stanley, married to Emma JONES (resides in Bloomsburg; he is a graduate of Lafayette College, of the class of 1883); Ida, attending Mount Holyoke Seminary, South Hadley, Mass., and John R., who was prepared for the college at the Bloomsburg Normal University and is now attending the Lafayette College. The deceased are Florence Gertrude, who died at the age of three months, and an infant unnamed. Mrs. HERRING is a member of the Methodist Church. Mr. HERRING was county treasurer of Schuylkill County two years and was president and superintendent of the water company at Shenandoah six years, and also superintendent of the gas company at that place; served in the town council six years; was treasurer of the savings fund for a like period, director of the Shenandoah Valley Bank six years, and treasurer of the Miners' Hospital fund at Shenandoah one year. He has been elected to the position of town concil, president of Bloomsburg four terms, and was assistant county treasurer of Columbia County six years. He is a member of Shenandoah Lodge, No. 591, I. O. O. F. and of Blue Lodge, No. 611, A. F. & A. M. at Shenandoah. He passed all the chairs in the former lodge and was Past Grand Master a number of years: also held a number of offices in the latter lodge. He was one of the charter members of the Shenandoah Lodge, I. O. O. F. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 343)

GRANT STANLEY HERRING, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, is a native of Centreville, Columbia Co., Penn., born May 19, 1862. He is a son of George A. HERRING, who was formerly county treasurer of Schuylkill County, Penn., where he resided, but is now a resident of Bloomsburg. Our subject obtained his preparatory education in Bloomsburg Normal School, and became a student at Lafayette College in 1879, graduating in June, 1883. He registered as a law student in January, 1883, with E. R. IKELER, Esq., and was admitted to the bar in February, 1885. On the same day he formed a partnership with his preceptor, and the firm is known as IKELER & HERRING. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 343)

J. M. HESS, retired farmer, Bloomsburg, was born at Wapwallopen, Luzerne County, February 22, 1823, to Jeremiah and Mary (FENSTERMACHER) HESS. The father was born in Easton, Penn., and came from there to Luzerne County with his parents, when a boy. He bought a mill property at Wapwallopen, and operated it about eight or nine years; then traded it for a farm in Salem township, and later bought another place, part of which he sold, and for the last twenty or twenty-five years led a retired life. He was twice married; first to Mary FENSTERMACHER, who bore him ten children, eight of whom are living: Philip, near Fairmount Springs, Luzerne County; J. M., our subject; Nathan, in New Columbus, Luzerne County; Aaron W., in Mifflinville; Reuben, in Town of Bloomsburg; Polly, wife of Thomas BRADY, in Salem Township, Luzerne County; Elizabeth, wife of Charles HILL, also in Salem Township, Luzerne County, and Catherine, wife of Reuben HILL, in Dixon, Lee County, Ill. The deceased are Susan, wife of John FENSTERMACHER, and John. Jeremiah HESS died in 1877; his first wife died in 1857, and both are buried in Beach Haven Cemetery, Luzerne County. Our subject was six weeks old when his parents moved to Salem Township, and there he was reared to farm life. He made his home with his parents until his nineteenth year when he went to learn the blacksmith's trade with Charles HAGENBUCH of Centre Township; but after nine months he abandoned the trade and went to Salem Township where he married. He then moved to Orange Township and commenced farming on his own account, renting his father-in-law's farm, which he bought twelve years later. There he resided until 1869, when he bought a residence property in Bloomsburg, and has since made it his home. He married, January 26, 1843, Miss Maria POHE, a native of Mifflin Township, and a daughter of Joseph and Polly (WOLF) POHE. The POHEs were early settlers of the county, and here the parents of Mrs. HESS passed their lives. Her father died September 5, 1880, in the ninetieth year of his age; his wife died in 1833, and both are buried in Mifflinville Cemetery. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. HESS, four of whom are living: George Wilson, married to Sarah SMITH, and resides on Mr. HESS' farm; Mary Catherine, wife of Frank CAVANEE, in Bloomsburg; Sarah Agnes and Jeremiah A., who is engaged in the shoe business in Bloomsburg. The deceased are Clarence, Sylvester, and two infants unnamed. Mr. HESS is a member of the Reformed Church, Mrs. HESS of the Lutheran. Mr. HESS is a member of the Mountain Lodge No. 264, at Orangeville. He served as supervisor of Orange Township. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 343)

WILLIAM H. HOUSE, surgeon and dentist, Bloomsburg, was born at Danby, Tompkins Co., N. Y., May 17, 1850, a son of Oakley A. and Julia Ann (PAYNE) HOUSE. His father was a farmer and is now living at Owego; he was also a veterinary surgeon and followed the profession for many years. Our subject obtained his education at Spencer Academy, Tioga County, N. Y., and when twenty-two years old took up the study of dentistry with Dr. R. T. DEARBORN of Mecklenburg, Schuyler Co., N. Y. He remained with him about three years and then formed a partnership with his preceptor which continued one year. March 17, 1874, he located at Bloomsburg where September 1, same year, he opened a dental office on his own account, and has been continually in practice up to date. His office is fitted with all the modern appliances requisite to the completeness of a first-class office, and he has grown into a successful practice. Mr. HOUSE married, December 25, 1873, Miss Allie BOGART of Spencer, Tioga Co., N. Y., and a daughter of Isaac BOGART, a farmer of Spencer. They have had three children: Maggie J., died aged ten years, March, 1885; Jennie E., died February 4, 1885, aged about nine years. The former of meningitis and the latter of peritonitis, and Cora Belle, born March 29, 1881. The Doctor and Mrs. HOUSE are members of the Methodist Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 343)

HIRAM C. HOWER, surgeon and dentist, Bloomsburg, was born in 1824, a son of John and Rebecca (DAVIS) HOWER. The family is an old one in the county and settled near Catawissa. The father, John HOWER, was a soldier in the war of 1812. The DAVISes were also old settlers, Jonathan DAVIS, the grandfather of our subject, settling also near Catawissa. Dr. HOWER was reared on a farm and learned the chair-making and painting trades, which he followed three years. He was educated at the schools of his vicinity, and at the age of twenty-two began to study dentistry with his uncle, Dr. VALLERSCHAMP, of McDowell's mills. After reading and studying with his uncle for about a year and a half, he opened a dentist's office at Light Street and subsequently at Wilkesbarre, where he was associated with Dr. WADHAMS, but with the exception of two years since he began to practice he has been located at Bloomsburg. The Doctor is an adept in the profession, and during the thirty-six years he has been in Bloomsburg he has acquired a large practice. For ten years from 186 he kept a general store at Bloomsburg and at the same time also was interested in the sale of reapers and sewing machines which business he conducted while holding a large practice in his profession. He married Caroline, daughter of Charles ENT, an old resident of Columbia County, and ten children were born to them, three being dead. The living are W. Ella, married to Moris MITCHELL of Camden, N. J.; Emma, wife of John F. CALDWELL of Bloomsburg; Rettie, wife of Erastus CONNER of Nanticoke; Cora, wife of A. M. WINTERSTEEN, a dentist at Bloomsburg; Myrtie, Wilbur and Hiram Clarence, at home with their parents. Dr. HOWER has the largest practice of any dentist in this section; is frequently called upon at his office to operate for people living in Philadelphia and other portions of this State; as also from New York City and other sections. While equal to the best in his general practice and diligent in acquiring all the latest improvements in his business, he is making a specialty of gold-filling in which he has no superior. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 344)

DOUGLASS HUGHES, is descended from Irish ancestry, who came to the United States from County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1793. The first of the family to settle in Columbia County was Isaiah HUGHES, who located with his wife, Henrietta (TEA) HUGHES, in Douglassville, Berks County, at a very early period. They were members of the society of Friends and died in this county. Their children were as follows: Mary, died unmarried; Ann, died unmarried; Lydia, became the wife of Samuel HARTMAN, and George, who married Ann, a daughter of Err and Sarah (DUNLAP) HARDER. George and his wife became the parents of the subject of this sketch, and were both natives of this county, born October 18, 1798, and March 31, 1803, respectively, and were married February 1, 1823. George died April 10, 1881, but his wife August 23, 1871. They were both members of the Methodist Church and were buried in what is known as the Friends' burying-ground in Catawissa, this county. He followed the wheelwright trade and also the foundry business at Catawissa for a number of years. They had seven children: Harriet, born November 8, 1823, died at the age of four years; Douglass, our subject, born December 27, 1825, married November 27, 1849, Matilda, a daughter of Stephen and Sarah (FORNWALD) BALDY of Catawissa; Maberry, born July 21, 1823, unmarried; Marshall, born March 28, 1830, married Matilda KLUTZ, and died May 4, 1862; Ann Eliza, born February 29, 1832, and married Ransloe BOONE; Marks Biddle, born July 19, 1834, and died, unmarried, October 14, 1859; Henrietta and Sarah (twins) born March 23, 1840 (the former married Edward SMITH, and the latter Dr. Jacob VASTINE of Catawissa, this county). Douglass HUGHES learned the chair-making and painter's trades with his father, with whom he remained, except a year or two, until 1848. He then established himself in a chair-making and painting business, on the southeast corner of Iron and Second Streets, Bloomsburg, and conducted it for seven years. He then bought a farm one mile from town, on the Susquehanna River, where he lived for twenty years. In 1882 he moved to Bloomsburg, bought a residence, and in 1884, his present place, which is known as the "Bidleman property." Mrs. HUGHES is a member of the Methodist Church, of which her husband is also an attendant. They are the parents of three children: Clara Augusta, born March 15, 1852, married John WAGGENSELLER of Bloomsburg; Mary A., born June 2, 1854, married Alfred HARMAN of Catawissa, died in May, 1882, and George Marshall, born September 28, 1858, married Rose FARNSWORTH of Rupert, this county. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 344)

ELIJAH R. IKELER, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, was born in Greenwood Township, this county, February 27, 1838, a son of Isaac IKELER, an old and respected farmer of that township, now deceased. Our subject at the age of sixteen became a student at the Greenwood Seminary, Millville. Subsequently he learned the miller's trade at Millville, and on completing it bought a part interest and continued the business until 1865, when he moved to Bloomsburg, meanwhile keeping up his studies. After coming here he registered as a law student with Col. John G. FREEZE in the fall of 1864. April 1, 1865, he became a regular student in his office, and was admitted to the bar in May, 1867. In 1869 he was elected district attorney and served during the first of the "Molly Maguire" trials, and upon the town organization was elected its first treasurer. Mr. IKELER is a Democrat and during the war was an active supporter of the Union cause. In 1865 he bought the Columbia Democrat and consolidated it with the Star of the North, and called the paper the Democrat and Star. He was connected with it one year when he sold his interest and has since devoted his time exclusively to his profession. He married, march 23, 1863, Miss Helena ARMSTRONG, a daughter of Ephraim ARMSTRONG, of Bloomsburg, and a descendant of the RITTENHOUSEs, of near Philadelphia. They have two children, Frank A. and Fred T., aged respectively eighteen and sixteen years. The ancestors of the IKELER family in Columbia County were originally Germans and came to America in 1760. The great-grandfather of our subject was Joseph, who settled in Belvidere, N. J.; the name was then spelled EGGLER. He was a farmer, and on the outbreak of the Revolution enlisted and served on the colonial side. He died in New Jersey. His son, Andrew J., was the founder of the family in Columbia County. He was married in New Jersey to Christiana JOHNSON, and was a magistrate in this county about the year 1835. He and his wife came the entire distance from New Jersey on horseback, bringing with them their effects, and located in Greenwood Township. He took up about 1,000 acres, which still remain in possession of his descendants. He was a leading citizen and held many local and county offices. He died in 1854 aged eighty years; his widow in 1866, at the age of ninety-three. Both are buried in the family lot on the old homestead. He was for a long time colonel of militia; raised a regiment for the war of 1812 and led it to the field. His son, Isaac, married Mary TAYLOR, a native of New Jersey, and they became the parents of Elijah R. Isaac was a farmer and a highly respected citizen. He died in 1884 at the age of eighty years, and his wife in 1879, aged sixty-five years. Both are buried in Mount Pleasant Township, this county. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 345)

CAPTAIN A. B. JAMESON, civil service, Washington, D. C., was born in Schuylkill County, Penn., August 23, 1836, in the family of nine children born to Judith and Daniel JAMISON, [footnote: As spelled by Capt. Jameson's father; correct spelling, however, is Jameson.] eight of whom are living, four sons having given their services to the cause of the Union during the war of the Rebellion. The father removed with his family to Columbia County in 1839 and established the hotel known as "The Halfway House," between Bloomsburg and Berwick on the Susquehanna. This hotel was but short lived, however, to Mr. JAMISON, for, having connected himself with the Methodist Church in 1842, he abandoned the business. Our subject attended the public schools until he was sixteen years of age, and then left his home to battle for himself with the realities of life. Later he secured about two years' schooling at Dickinson Seminary and the academy at New Columbus; then taught a district school one year. April 21, 1862, Mr. JAMESON enlisted in Company A, Sixth Pennsylvania Reserves; was commissioned first lieutenant September 21, 1862, and breveted captain United States Volunteers at the battle of the Wilderness. At the battle of Antietam he received a contused wound of the knee joint, on account of which disability he was appointed acting quartermaster of the regiment, in which capacity he served during the last year of his service. After serving the full term of his enlistment (three years), Capt. JAMESON left the army a cripple, and had, therefore, to accept a position in the civil service. He also commenced the study of medicine, in which he graduated from the University of Georgetown, D. C., Medical Department, March 5, 1867. Capt. JAMESON takes pride in the fact that he has assisted in the adjustment of the accounts of the interest on the public debt; redemption of Government securities; funding and refunding of national loans caused by the war of the Rebellion, involving millions on millions in amounts passed upon, requiring fidelity too the Government and honesty and care in the settlements; and it can be truly said of him, without adulation, that he has always held the confidence of those under whom and with whom he has served in any capacity. Reared in the Calvinistic faith by consistent orthodox parents, our subject has had engrafted on him Christianizing influences. In mature years, however, not being able to subscribe too the iron-bound creeds and dogmas as advanced by Calvin, he sought what he considered the more liberal, larger and broader faith, and became united with the Unitarian Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 345)

DANIEL W. KITCHEN, manager of the Farmers Produce Exchange, Bloomsburg, was born in Rohrsburg, this county, in 1859, a son of Amos H. and Sarah Ann (McHENRY) KITCHEN. Amos H. was a son of Henry and Matilda (DAVIS) KITCHEN, and Henry was a son of a pioneer, who first settled in this county in 17__, near Rhorsburg. He was a native of Ireland, a farmer by occupation, and a member of the Methodist Church. He took up some 400 acres in the neighborhood of Rohrsburg, where he resided many years and died, leaving a family of thirteen children. Many of his descendants are still found in this county. Daniel W. educated at Starkey Seminary, Yates County, N. Y., and when twenty-one began teaching, which profession he followed two terms. He then engaged as a clerk in the general store of William MASTERS, at Millville, and continued in his employ for fifteen years, In 1882 he was appointed by the directors of the Farmers Produce Exchange as their business manager, and assumed charge in January, 1882, in the old building adjoining the present store. The annual sales then averaged about $1,000, but under the supervision of Mr. KITCHEN the sales of the first three months amounted to $16,000. Shortly after he took charge a grain trade was established, which resulted in a regular grain market. In 1886 the present large three-story structure 72x42, was built at a cost of $7,500. The Exchange has an annual sale of about $80,000, and regularly declares dividends from 6 1/4 per cent upward. The business carries a general stock and requires the attention of four men, besides occasional outside help. The most of the produce is sold at local points. Mr. KITCHEN married, September 2, 1873, Lizzie J. WARNER of Muncy, a daughter of James WARNER, and they have one child, Carola J. Mr. KITCHEN is a strict temperance advocate and for many years was a member of and worker in the Good Templar organization. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 346)

C. A. KLEIM, druggist, Bloomsburg, is a native of Philadelphia, born in 1847, son of Henry and Dorotha (EICHOLTZ) KLEIM, natives respectively of Hesse Cassel and the village of Eisenach, in Saxony, Germany. They came to the United States in 1846, and in 1857 to Bloomsburg, where they still reside, and where the father keeps a grocery store on East Street. Our subject obtained his early education in the schools of Philadelphia, and completed his studies at the Bloomsburg Classical School kept by Mr. Henry CARVER. He then learned the drug business with Moyer Brothers, serving a three years' apprenticeship, and soon after, in 1872, bought the present business from E. P. LUTZ. He carries a full line of drugs, has a regular prescription business, and does one of the best trades of the kind in the town. He was first married in 1872 to Clara J. SEASHOLTZ, who died in 1883 leaving one child--Harry C. His second marriage took place in September, 1884, with Miss Addie JOHNSON. Mr. KLEIM is a Democrat and an active worker in the interests of his party, and has served two terms as secretary of the Democratic committee of this county. He is now serving as director of the poor for Bloomsburg District. He is a member of the Lutheran Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 346)

C. F. KNAPP, insurance agent, Bloomsburg, was born in the city of Besigheim, Wortemberg, Germany, October 12, 1822, a son of John B. and Sophia Dorathea (KONZMAN) KNAPP, former of whom was born in the same city in March, 1784, and the latter in Stadten, August 9, 1791; they were married in April, 1814, at Besigheim. The father was a wine-dresser in his native country, and followed that occupation until April, 1831, when, with his wife and six sons, he set out for America, landing at Philadelphia on the 9th of August of that year. Here Mr. KNAPP obtained employment in the glass works at Kensington, and twelve years later moved to Potts Grove Township, Montgomery County, where he purchased a farm and resided the remainder of his days. They had ten children, five of whom are living: our subject; Ernest, engaged in the stone and marble business in Phoenixville, Chester County; Charles A., a locomotive engineer in Philadelphia; Caroline D., widow of John Ellis VAN NATTA, residing in Philadelphia; John G., engaged in iron works in Pottstown, Montgomery County, and Jacob, a farmer near Pottstown, Montgomery County. The deceased are John David, Christian G., Louisa Clara, G. Gottleib and William F. John B. KNAPP died in Montgomery County; his wife died in Potts Grove, same county, on the 26th of August, 1848, some years before her husband. Both are buried in the Swamp Cemetery of the Lutheran Church, Montgomery County. C. F. KNAPP was nine years of age when the family came to Philadelphia, and in the schools of that city received his education. When a boy he drove a horse on the towpath of the canal, and later drove a cart on the construction of the Reading Railroad. At the age of twenty-one he came to Bloomsburg and worked on the construction of the first furnaces here. After their erection he went into the mines and helped to produce the first ore that was used in these furnaces. After three years he abandoned mining, apprenticed himself to learn all the branches of masonry, and spent about four years in acquiring a thorough knowledge of the business. He was then disabled by a fall, and later was appointed first assistant revenue assessor of this district, and served in that capacity during the administration of President Lincoln, but was one of the first discharged by Johnson. He then engaged in the fire insurance business, which he has since followed, and is now the special agent and adjuster for the State of Pennsylvania for three companies, a position he has held since 1876. He married in Bloomsburg October 13, 1846, Miss Maria Elizabeth VAN NATTA, who was born in Bloomsburg October 18, 1825, a daughter of Peter and Rosina VAN NATTA. Her parents were natives of Bloomsburg; her grandparents of New Jersey. To Mr. and Mrs. KNAPP five children were born (four of whom are living): Caroline Margaret, wife of William F. BODINE, of Bloomsburg; Sophia Amelia, wife of Harvey LONG, residing at Nanticoke; John Ellis (deceased); Peter E., married to Clara WICHT (resides in Bloomsburg and assists Mr. KNAPP in his insurance business), and Mary Catherine, married to George S. ROBBINS, in Bloomsburg. The family are all members of the Episcopal Church. Mr. KNAPP is a Republican politically. He joined the I. O. O. F. in 1846, has held the secretaryship of Van Camp Lodge, No. 140, ever since, and for thirty-two years has held the office of District Deputy Grand Master of the order. He became a member of the Susquehanna Encampment, No. 60, in 1848, and was District Deputy Grand Patriarch for seven years. September 28, 1851, he became a member of Danville Lodge, No. 224, A. F. & A. M., from which lodge he withdrew and instituted Washington Lodge, No. 265, at Bloomsburg, of which he has been secretary almost from its organization; served as Deputy Grand Master eight years. He joined Girard Lodge, No. 214 in 1854, became a Royal Arch Mason in Catawissa Chapter; from which chapter he withdrew and started No. 218, at Bloomsburg, and has been a member of that organization up to date, serving five years as Deputy Grand High Priest. He has been secretary of Mt. Moriah Council, No. 10, R. R. & S. M., from its organization, served as Grand Master for Pennsylvania of that body from 1859 to 1876, a record equaled by no other living man. He became a member of Park Commandery, No. 7, March 6, 1856, and started Crusade Commandery, No. 12, at Bloomsburg, and has served as its recorder almost from its organization; was installed as Right Eminent Grand Commander of the Grand Commandery of Pennsylvania at the city of Reading in 1860 and was Grand Lecturer of the State 1861-63. He received the A. A. S. rite, Caldwell Consistory, S. P. R. S. Thirty-second Degree, March 5, 1865, and was Commander-in-Chief of the same organization to December, 1885. When he retired from the service he was presented with a valuable silver service; was made Sovereign Grand Inspector General of the Thirty-second Degree and active member of the Supreme Council, September 18, 1872; was admitted to the order of the Knights of Rome and Red Cross, of Constantine, December 7, 1870; Past Grand Sovereign of the State of Pennsylvania and Past Grand Master of the United States of America, and received the Order of the Grand Cross, of which there can only be thirty in the Nation. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 346)

SAMUEL KNORR, attorney, Bloomsburg, is a native of what is now Centre Township, this county, born December 24, 1836, and is a son of Henry D. and Sarah (KELCHNER) KNORR, of the same township. Henry D. was a son of Henry and Margaret (DEITRICH) KNORR, who was a son of Leonard KNORR, a native of Germany, and located in Centre Township about the year 1782. The father was a farmer, and prominent in the affairs of the township and county in an early day. He was a member of the Reformed Church. A great-uncle, John KNORR, had a large family, and owned a farm in Centre Township. One of his descendants, Mrs. Ann HESS, now lives at the mouth of Fishing Creek. Until the age of sixteen our subject remained on his father's farm. He then came to Bloomsburg and attended the high school in the summer and taught school in the winter for two years. He then returned home and remained one year, continuing his studies and teaching that winter. In 1856 he became a student in Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, where he remained two years, and in 1858 began to read law in the office of Willaim G. HURLEY of Bloomsburg, and was admitted to the bar in December, 1860. That winter he taught school, and immediately after the firing on Fort Sumpter he enlisted, April 22, 1861, in what was known as the "Iron Guards of Bloomsburg," afterward as Company A, Sixth Regiment, Pennsylvania Reserve Corps. Mr. KNORR served in the company as private and first sergeant until October 6, 1861, when he was promoted to the second lieutenantcy of the company, in which capacity he served until October 28, 1862. He was then mustered out on account of physical disability. He was in command of the picket line in the advance, and opened the battle of Dranesville; was actively engaged in the Peninsula campaign, in the engagement at second Bull Run, and the battle of Sharpsburg. Disease contracted in the Peninsula campaign, followed by the fatigue and privations of the second Bull Run campaign, caused the sickness on account of which he was discharged. On his return from the service he went west and established an office at Davenport, Iowa. Three months later Lee invaded Pennsylvania, so abandoning his office Mr. KNORR returned home, in 1863, and recruited Companies A and I, Thirty-fifth State Militia; was appointed major of the regiment. Six weeks after the regiment was mustered out and returned home. In October, 1863, the Government began organizing colored troops, and Mr. KNORR was commissioned captain of Company A, Nineteenth Regiment, United States colored troops. He was on recruiting service at Baltimore that winter, and joined the Army of the Potomac May 4, 1864. From that date the regiment was in succession of constant engagements until June 17, when it took position in front of Petersburg, and participated in the charge on the rebel works. When the famous mine explosion took place, one-third of the regiment was killed. In December they were transferred to Bermuda Hundred, where they repulsed a charge of the rebels. January 1, 1865, they became part of the Army of the James; were on siege duty at Fort Steadman; entered Richmond at Lee's surrender; assisted in putting out the fire, and in June, 1865, were sent to the Rio Grande. Mr. KNORR was promoted to major October 5, 1865, and lieutenant-colonel February 27, 1865, and served in that capacity until he resigned, January 6, 1866, and returned home. He at once opened an office at Bloomsburg and resumed the practice of law. He was one of the electors in 1868 in the election of President Grant, and was present at the inauguration. In 1869 he was appointed assessor of internal revenue for the Thirteenth Congressional District, and held it until 1873, when the office was abolished. Mr. KNORR has served the town as members of the council, of the school board, and the State as a trustee of the State normal school for thirteen years. He has been twice married, first in November, 1864, to Emma L. ETTLA, of Harrisburg, who died July 15, 1875, the mother of two children now living; Mildred, now seventeen years of age, a student at Vassar College in the sophomore class, and Clifton C. His second marriage occurred December 24, 1876, with Mary A. ETTLA, a sister of his first wife. Mr. KNORR is a member of the Methodist Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 347)

STEPHEN KNORR, blacksmith, Bloomsburg, was born in Milton, Northumberland Co., Penn., in 1827, a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (BRUMHELLER) KNORR, who settled in Briarcreek Township, this county, about the same year. Jacob followed agricultural pursuits, and resided during the later years of his life on a farm two miles north of Berwick, where he died in 1841. He left a fair estate; was a Democrat, and served his locality in various local offices. He was buried in Briarcreek churchyard, and his wife in Rosemont Cemetery. They were both members of the German Reformed Church. Stephen KNORR until his father's death lived on the farm, and when eighteen began learning the blacksmith trade. In 1848 he opened a shop of his own between the Exchange and Central Hotel; in 1861 built his present shop on the corner of Second and West Streets, and has since carried on both. He also conducts a wagon-making business in connection with blacksmithing. He married Minerva, daughter of George FRY, one of the first settlers of Bloomsburg, having come here when there were but three buildings in the place. Mr. and Mrs. KNORR have four children living: Susan E., married to Edward SEARLE; Ida, widow of Christian R. ALLEMAN; William E., married to Jennie WINTERSTEEN; George S., married to Louisa Andes. Alice died at the age of sixteen months. Mrs. KNORR is a member of the Lutheran Church. Politically Mr. KNORR is a Democrat, and has served as member of the town council six terms, and other local offices such as judge of elections, etc. He has resided in town continuously, and all the custom blacksmiths, except one, now doing business in Bloomsburg, learned their trade with him. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 348)

WILLIAM KRICKBAUM, editor of The Sentinel, Bloomsburg, is a native of Catawissa Township, this county, born September 18, 1835. His father, Henry KRICKBAUM, a farmer, owning some 200 acres of land in that township, died when our subject was but a year old, and his widow, Susan (BREISCH) KRICKBAUM, married for her second husband, Benjamin MILLER. William remained on the home farm with his mother and stepfather until twenty-one years of age, and during that time attended the common schools of the vicinity two months each year for several years; also two terms at Millville Seminary; subsequently two terms at Willaimsport, Dickinson Seminary, and one more term at Millville. Previous to his last term at Millville in march, 1857, he married Miss Judith, daughter of George MILLER of Maine Township, this county. During his student days he had taught school, and followed that vocation before and after his marriage some twelve terms. From his majority he had always taken an active part in politics, and worked in the interest of the Democratic party, to which he is now and has always been an adherent, and in 1866, while still teaching, was appointed commissioner's clerk for Columbia County, a position he filled for twelve consecutive years, during a greater part of that time also acting as deputy treasurer and as sheriff's clerk. In 1878 he resigned the clerkship to accept the office of prothonotary, to which he had been elected the same year. He served two terms as prothonotary, and in 1884 was a candidate for a third term, and, although in reality having a majority of 175 was, under the limited system of voting in choosing delegates, defeated. For a period of upward of twenty-five years Mr. KRICKBAUM has been officially and otherwise prominently and influentially identified with the politics of Columbia County. Probably no man ever held public office in Columbia County who worked with a truer regard for the interest of the taxpayers and its public welfare than did Mr. KRICKBAUM through his long service to the County as an official. It is proverbial that, in taking charge of the prothonotary office, and indeed, from the first years of his service as commissioners' clerk, many fees in the sheriff's and prothonotary's office which he thought exorbitant and an injustice to the citizens, were reduced through him to a lower and more considerate figure, and remained so during his official occupancy. April 12, 1885, Mr. KRICKBAUM bought the office and plant of the Democratic Sentinel at Bloomsburg. The paper was then 24x36 inches, seven columns, and had a circulation of 600. He has enlarged it to an eight-page eight-column paper, size 26x40 inches, with a circulation increased in less than two years to 2,500 subscribers. The KRICKBAUMS are of German extraction, and the first of the family to settle in the United States located in Montgomery County, Penn. The first to settle in Catawissa Township was Philip, in the spring of 1794. His wife's maiden name was Susannah TREXLER of Hickorytown, near Philadelphia, and of German parentage. He died in 1833, aged sixty-three years; his wife also died in Catawissa Township, and both are buried in Catawissa Cemetery. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 348)

CHARLES KRUG, proprietor of KRUG's planing-mill, Bloomsburg, was born in Berne Township, Berks Co., Penn., November 11, 1843, a son of Adam and Ann Eliza (EISANHART) KRUG, of that county, former of whom, a farmer, died in that county; latter is still living in White Ear Valley, Union Co., Penn., with her son, Adam. Our subject was reared on a farm, but when eighteen began learning the carpenter's trade; came to Bloomsburg in 1867, and in 1869 began the business of contractor and builder. He purchased the plant of his present business in 1880, remodeled the buildings, refitted with new boilers and engines of forty-horse power, and the latest improved machinery, including two steam planers, one a twenty-six inch and the other fourteen inch. When running under full headway the mill furnished employment to from forty to fifty hands. The principal articles of manufacture are doors, sash, blinds, sidings and all kinds of dressed lumber to order. The establishment turns out annually $59,000 worth of business with a pay-roll to employes of about $12,000 per annum. Mr. KRUG also does a large business in contracting and building and was awarded the contract for erecting the addition to the State normal school at a cost of $12,500 and upward. He also built the large school-house at Catawissa, the opera house at Bloomsburg, the E. R. IKELER house, Episcopal parsonage, and the large business blocks west of the "Exchange Hotel," the Furman Block, the "Derrick House," at Mahanoy City, and others too numerous to mention, having probably erected in Bloomsburg and vicinity upward of a thousand buildings of different descriptions. Among one of the largest was the Lutheran Church at Milton, a brick structure partly Gothic in style. Mr. KRUG has been twice married: first, in December, 1864, to Frances Ann YEAGER, who died in February, 1882, leaving ten children: Laura Agnes, who married Henry JONES; Willitz, Edward, Cora, Celesta Ann, William, Morris, Arthur, John and Paul. His second marriage occurred in May, 1882, with Margaret Ann FREDERICK, who has borne him three children: Sarah, Julia and Helen. Mr. KRUG is a member of the F. & A. M., No. 265, at Bloomsburg; a member of the Reformed Church. In politics he is a Democrat. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 349)

ISAAC KUHN, stock dealer, Bloomsburg, is a native of Northampton County, Penn., born at Easton in 1830, a son of Andrew and Matilda (BRUTSMAN) KUHN. The parents were descended from prominent farmers of that county whose ancestors came from Germany at an early day. Andrew KUHN moved to this county in 1832 and settled in Bloomsburg, where he owned and operated a farm just back of the present normal school. He and his wife were both members of the Lutheran Church, and later moved to Akron, Ind., where they died. Our subject when young learned the harness trade at Easton and followed it for ten years. In 1855 he came to Bloomsburg and established a butcher business which he continued for thirty years, but, the last two years, has been handling stock, shipping cattle from Buffalo, bringing to this market fifty or sixty carloads per season, averaging from twenty to twenty-four head per car. The family are members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. KUHN married Susan DENGLER, of Schulykill HAVEN, Penn., in 1856, and they have six children; Alvaretta V., Eliza M., Emma D., May A., Lottie L. and Bessie R. Mr. KUHN is one of the most substantial citizens of Bloomsburg. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 349)

EPHRAIM H. LITTLE, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, was born March 23, 1823, in the State of New York. His father, George LITTLE, moved with his family to Bethany, Wayne Co., Penn., when our subject was quite young, and there resided, carrying on a tannery until our subject was ten years old. He then moved to Montrose, Susquehanna Co., Penn., and engaged in mercantile business. Our subject obtained his early education at the schools of Montrose, and in his eighteenth year began reading law as a student in the office of Lusk & Little, of Montrose, Penn., but completed his legal studies at Morris, Grundy Co., Ill. There he was admitted to the bar in 1844, and practiced law in Joliet, same State, for two years. He then practiced two years more at Morris, Ill., and while a resident of that place, on one occasion went hunting prairie chickens when his gun accidentally discharged, lacerating his arm in such a manner as to render its amputation necessary. In 1847 he returned to Montrose, Penn., and in 1848 opened a law office at Tunkhannock, Penn. In 1849 he was appointed weighmaster on the canal at Birchoven, and acted as such for two years. In December, 1850, he married Eliza SEYBERT, and in the spring of 1851 came to Columbia County, and located at Berwick, where he practiced his profession until 1860. He then came to Bloomsburg, and has been in continuous and successful practice here up to date. Mr. LITTLE is a Democrat; was elected district attorney for Columbia County in 1856, and re-elected twice, serving nine years in all, and is well known throughout the country as an able lawyer. In addition to his law practice with his son, R. r. LITTLE, he also superintends and operates a farm of 135 acres, located three and a half miles from Bloomsburg. He is a member of the Baptist Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 349)

ROBERT R. LITTLE, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, was born at Berwick, this county, in May, 1852. He obtained his literary education at the schools of Bloomsburg and graduated at the normal school in the class of 1871. He completed his studies at Rochester University and Hamilton College, Clinton, N. Y., and then began the study of law in his father's office. In 1874 he was admitted to the bar, and in the same year began the practice at Bloomsburg, in partnership with his father. He was elected district attorney of Columbia County January 1, 1878, and re-elected in 1881, serving six years. He is now serving as chairman of the Democratic standing committee of the county. In 1878 he married Deborah T. TUSTIN, and one child was born to their union. He is a member of the Baptist Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 349)

GEORGE M. & JOHN K. LOCKARD, car builders, general machinists and founders, Bloomsburg. This important business industry was established in 1863 by Semple & Taylor, who conducted a machine shop and foundry for some years, and in 1871 the plant was bought by the Columbia County Iron & Manufacturing Company. The latter enlarged the facilities somewhat and added car building, but, becoming involved, in 1873 the plant was bought by M. W. JACKSON, of Berwick, of the car-building firm of Jackson & Woodin. G. M. LOCKARD became identified with the business in 1871 as foreman of the wood department for the Columbia County Iron & Manufacturing Company, and in 1872 with J. K. LOCKARD, who had also become identified with the business, bought a one-quarter interest in the concern. On the closing up of the affairs of the Columbia County Iron & Manufacturing Company they both returned to Berwick and to the employ of Jackson & Woodin, with whom they had previously been engaged for upward of five years as foremen of different gangs of men in the car works. In 1875 they contracted for and took possession of their present establishment, and in 1879 by purchase became sole owners. In 1879 the buildings were destroyed by fire with a loss of $40,000, and only $18,000 insurance. The Messrs. LOCKARD immediately began erecting new buildings, which, with machinery ready fitted, were completed for work and under full headway within ninety days from the date of the fire, with treble the capacity they had before. The following four years they built over 4,000 twenty-ton railroad cars, and did a vast amount of other work. The business annually amounted to nearly $1,000,000 and employed from 200 to 250 men, with a pay-roll amounting to $10,000 per month. Since 1883 the work has been principally the building of mining cars, car wheels, mining supplies, etc., averaging about $100,000 per annum, and employing forty to fifty men. The Messrs LOCKARD have won, while comparatively young, a foremost place among the business men of Columbia County, with varied and diversified interests extending even to Florida, where G. M. LOCKARD has a farm of 175 acres in Marion County. There they made a visit in 1885, on the trip crossing the Gulf of Mexico, visiting New Orleans, up the Mississippi to St. Louis, Chicago and other western points, and thence home. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 350)

GEORGE M. LOCKARD was born in Briarcreek Township, near Berwick, June 6, 1835, a son of John and Elizabeth (SEYBERT) LOCKARD. His father was a carpenter and our subject when but fourteen years old began learning the same trade. He obtained his education in the schools of the vicinity and completed his studies at the academy at New Columbus, Luzerne Co., Penn.; subsequently he taught school during winters for five terms, and for about five years owned and operated a boat on the canal. In 1861 or 1862 he again returned to his trade, in the employ of Jackson & Woodin in the capacity above mentioned, and remained with them until he came to Bloomsburg. He married, April 7, 1864, Esther J. TOMPSON. Mr. LOCKARD is a Democrat and an active worker in the interests of his party; has served on various occasions as delegate to the county and State conventions, and has also been a member of the town council. He and his wife reside in a commodious house nearly opposite his place of business, and he also owns his old homestead at Berwick, this county. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 350)

JOHN K. LOCKARD was born near Berwick, Columbia County, May 23, 1846, a son of Alexander and Ann (COPE) LOCKARD. His father was a farmer and John K. remained at home until he was eighteen, when he learned the carpenter's trade, having previously received a good English education in the schools of the vicinity. After completing his trade he was employed in the car works of Jackson & Woodin, as before mentioned. He married, in 1869 Celenda V. EDWARDS, who has borne him six children: Anna V., Jennie L., William C., Alexander T., Letha and Richard. Mr. LOCKARD is a Democrat, and has served in the council of Bloomsburg. He lives on Fifth Street in one of the finest residences in town, which he erected in 1884 at a cost of $15,000. It is built of brick, with a cement finish, and finished inside throughout with black walnut, and supplied with all modern improvements. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 350)

M. P. LUTZ, insurance agent, Bloomsburg, was born in Benton Township, Columbia County, January 13, 1841, to Adam and Sidney (TRAVIS) LUTZ. His grandfather, Peter LUTZ, was born in Berks County, Pen., and in 1810 came to this county and located in Benton Township on what is now the State road, one mile below Cambra, where he bought a tract of land. This he improved, erected comfortable dwellings and here resided until his death. While in Berks County he married Catherine BELLES, and it was a few years later when they moved to this county. He died in 1831 and his widow in 1862, and they are both buried near Pealertown. Adam LUTZ was the second son of Peter and became the father of our subject. He was reared in his native township, Benton, and made his home with his parents until his marriage, assisting on the farm and in the meantime learning the carpenter's trade. He married in January, 1838, Miss Sidney TRAVIS, who was a native of Luzerne County, and after marriage moved to Fairmount Township, Luzerne County, where they bought a farm and resided four or five years. There Mrs. LUTZ died, and her husband sold the property and resumed the carpenter trade until his second marriage, which occurred in Jackson Township, Columbia County, in January, 1851, with Catherine KNOUSE. He then located on the old homestead of his father and farmed it for six years. In 1857 he bought a farm near the town of Benton, and there resided until the spring of 1861, when he removed to Benton and built a house in which he resided until the time of his death. By his first marriage there were four children, three of whom are living: N. A., wife of Geo. HAZLETT, in Bloomingdale, Luzerne County; M. P., our subject, and F. M., in Benton Township. The deceased one was named Sidney Mary. By his second marriage there were also four children, of whom three are living: N. A., wife of Reuben WHITMIRE of Wilkesbarre; Clarissa C., wife of Sylvester SOLLIDER, of Bloomsburg; and S. A., who lives in Centre Township; Phebe J. is deceased. Adam LUTZ died in 1866 and is buried at Benton. His widow resides at Espy and is now the wife of Judge James LAKE. M. P. LUTZ was reared until the age of twenty years in Benton Township, and received his education in the common schools of his neighborhood at the Columbus Academy, and took a commercial course at Kingston. In early life he assisted his father on the farm. At the age of twenty he entered the service of his country and remained until December, 1862. He then engaged in the furniture business in Benton until August, 1864, when he again entered the service and remained to the close of the war. He then returned home and embarked in the millwright business at Wilkesbarre until the fall of 1865. In 1866 he engaged in the dry goods business, becoming a clerk with Coolbaugh & Frantz of Wilkesbarre with whom he remained over two years. He then bought the interest of Mr. REED, of the firm of Reed & Kennedy, and for one year engaged in the shoe trade under the firm name of LUTZ & KENNEDY. He then sold his interest in the shoe store and bought out the interest of A. J. SLOAN, of Bloomsburg, and conducted a dry goods business, the first exclusive dry goods business in Bloomsburg, and was the first merchant in the town to dress his windows. February 23, 1870, his store was destroyed by fire, and in march he bought out J. J. BROWER, general merchant, and again engaged in dry goods. He conducted the business alone for four years, and then took in H. W. SLOAN as partner, and the firm was thus constituted until April 1, 1885, when Mr. LUTZ closed out his interest to his partner and embarked in the insurance business. He represents the branches of fire, life and accident insurance, being insurance broker for his companies and agent for the Mutual Benefit Life Company, Newark, N. J. He married in Bloomsburg, January 13, 1868, Miss Anna A. BROCKWAY, a native of Berwick, and a daughter of Col. B. S. BROCKWAY. Mr. and Mrs. LUTZ are the parents of two children: Charles B. and Frank E. He has filled all the offices in the Odd Fellows' order, also in the K. of P. and Good Templars, but is not now a member of any order. During the war he was a member of Company A, Fifty-second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and served in the Army of the Potomac under McClellan. He was in the engagements at Gaines Mill, siege of Yorktown, Williamsburg and Fair Oaks; at the latter place he was taken ill and removed to the hospital, and in December, 1862, was discharged on account of disability. In August, 1864, he returned to the service, enlisting in Company A, One hundred and Ninety-ninth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, was promoted to sergeant and participated in the siege of Richmond, the operations about Petersburg and was present at the grand review at Washington, and carried home with him, as a memento of the struggle, a rebel flag which he took at Richmond. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 350)

THE McKELVY FAMILY. William McKELVY, a native of the North of Ireland, was the founder of the family of this name in Bloomsburg, Penn. His wife's name was Phoebe, and they located in Lancaster County, Penn., where the eldest child was born in 1782. The names of their children are as follows: John, born April 23, 1782; Mary, born September 1, 1783, married John NEAL, January 11, 1791; and Elizabeth, born January 17, 17__. The father of this family having died, his widow, Phoebe, married James BOYD. She subsequently came to Bloomsburg to live, where she died a widow May 15, 1824. This family are from what is generally known as Scotch-Irish extraction, and Presbyterians in religion. The first of the family to settle in Columbia County was William McKELVY, a son of William and Phoebe McKELVY; was born in Lancaster County, January 11, 1791. His parents were in moderate circumstances and unable to give him much other than a common education. But he was possessed of uncommon energy and he set out from home with the determination to succeed. In 1810 he engaged as a clerk in the store of John CLARK at Catawissa, with whom he remained until June 16, 1816. He then opened a general store on his own account, at Bloomsburg, and from that time for nearly sixty years he was prominently identified with the mercantile and other interests of the place. He was reared a Presbyterian, and although never a member, worshipped in that church all his life, and always sustained an enviable reputation as a citizen. He was progressive in every sense and liberal in support of public enterprises for the benefit of the vicinity in which he lived, and few, indeed, were those of any kind accomplished at Bloomsburg during his life or residence there, with which his name was not prominently connected as a promoter. He erected the building on the southeast corner of Second and Market Streets for a residence and store in 1822, and which is now occupied by the bank, and which he occupied as a store and homestead for many years. He also erected a number of other buildings that still stand as a memorial of his handiwork. He was not a politician in the general acceptance of the term, but was an ardent adherent of the Whig party during early and middle life, and later of the Republican party. He was never a seeker for or holder of any office, but served his vicinity in local offices, such as overseer of the poor, etc. He married, December 1, 1818, Elizabeth, a daughter of Isaiah WILLITTS, of Catawissa, and by this union there were born the following named children: Martha, born June 28, 1822, married David L. McKINNY; Harriet, born May 2, 1828, married Rev. A. A. MARPLE; Mary, born February 17, 1839, married John I. HESS, became a widow and married J. H. HARMAN; James Boyd McKELVY; Andrew Clark McKELVY, born October 9, 1826, died in December, 1850; I. W. McKELVY, born October 8, 1830, married Miss Elmira BARTON; and Charles W. McKELVY, born September 13, 1832, married Miss D. J. RAMSAY. William McKELVY and his wife, Elizabeth (WILLITTS) McKELVY, died, respectively, March 14, 1875, and June 24, 1858, and are buried in Rosemont Cemetery at Bloomsburg. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 351)

JAMES BOYD McKELVY, M. D., Bloomsburg, is a native of that place, born in September, 1824, a son of William and Elizabeth (WILLITTS) McKELVY. He obtained his literary education in the schools of Bloomsburg, and attended for one year Lenox Academy, at Lenox, Mass. About the age of seventeen he became a student at Williams College, and was graduated from that institution in the class of 1845. The same year he began reading medicine with Dr. John RAMSAY, of Bloomsburg, and subsequently attended the University of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, where he received his diploma as a physician and surgeon in the spring of 1849. That year he began to practice at Mifflinville, relieving a physician there while on a vacation. Shortly after he opened an office at Kentucky, Penn., and nine months later located at Arkadelphia, Ark., where he opened an office and remained a year. He then returned to Bloomsburg, where he has been in the continuous practice of his profession to date, and occupies an enviable and honorable position as a physician and surgeon. The Doctor was married December 25, 1851, to Mary Elizabeth, daughter of George and Mary (CRAIG) ABBETT of near Water Gap. They have had seven children: William, born November 17, 1852, educated in the Bloomsburg schools and graduated at the Medical University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, and is now practicing at Breckenridge, Summit Co., Col. George ABBETT, born March 1, 1855, educated at Bloomsburg, and is now keeping a drug store at Millersburg, married Miss Nora JACOBY; Henry W., was born July 9, 1858, married Isabella Hunter SUYDAM, and is now in the wholesale drug establishment of Fuller & Fuller, Chicago, Ill.; Elizabeth Willitts, born June 12, 1860, died June 15, 1864; Mary Craig, born April 29, 1862, died February 5, 1867; Martha Wilbur and Harriet Neal (twins), born April 7, 1865. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 352)

ISAIAH W. McKELVY, a son of William and Elizabeth (WILLITTS) McKELVY, was born in 1830. He was trained to mercantile business and in the meantime obtained his education in the schools of Bloomsburg, and at West Chester, Penn. Later he became a partner with his father and William NEAL, under the firm name of McKELVY, NEAL & Co. in 1852, and in 1872 bought out his partners' interests, and he has since conducted the business alone, doing the largest trade in the place, averaging probably $75,000 and upward per annum. Mr. McKELVY also ownys and operates the flour mill known as "Red mill" on Hemlock Creek. It has a capacity of fifty barrels per day. He is also quite largely interested in freighting and transportation by canal, running a line of eighteen boats the whole length of the canal and its branches. Mr. McKELVY was married, in the fall of 1851, to Miss Elmira BARTON. They have three children: Mary A., wife of George E. ELWELL; Elizabeth W. and Charles W., both at home. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 352)

CHARLES W. McKELVY, Bloomsburg, a son of William and Elizabeth (WILLITTS) McKELVY, was born September 13, 1832. He was reared to mercantile business in his father's store, and at the age of maturity moved to Catawissa, where he engaged in conducting a paper-mill, making book and newspaper, etc. He then operated a flour-mill and farmed for twenty-five years. His wife, Deborah J. (RAMSAY) McKELVY, whom he married June 16, 1858, was a daughter of Dr. John and Mary Ann (DOWNING) RAMSAY. Mr. and Mrs. C. W. McKELVY have four children: frank R., M. Louise, Anna and Josephine. Mrs. McKELVY is a member of the Presbyterian Church, which her family also attend. In politics Mr. McKELVY is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 352)

JOHN McREYNOLDS (deceased), the father of Dr. McREYNOLDS, was born near Watsontown, Northumberland Co., Penn., April 3, 1788. He was a son of Hugh and Elizabeth (SNODDY) McREYNOLDS, both natives of Belfast, Ireland. Hugh was born in January, 1750 (the first Monday old style), was married October 21, 1784, and died February 28, 1797. He served on the continental side during the Revolution, and after that struggle settled in Black Hole Valley near Watsontown. He had a family of children as follows: Esther, who married Thomas LAIRD; Andrew, married to Jane MANN; John, married to Agnes McHARD; Matthew, married to Lucinda BENNETT; Robert, married to Susan MOYER; Eliza, married to Thomas MORRISON; Isabella, married to Benjamin HALL, and Samuel, who went South and located somewhere in Kentucky, but of whom trace was lost. John McREYNOLDS, our subject, was a farmer, and soon after his marriage, August 11, 1814, he settled in Derry Township, now in Montour County, and remained there until 1835, when he moved to Buckhorn, and in 1869 to Bloomsburg, where he died in March, 1880. Besides farming, he, after moving to Buckhorn, kept a hotel. He was active in all public affairs, and an influential Democrat. In 1824 he was elected to the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, and re-elected for four more successive terms. He was again elected in 1850, to the State Legislature at Harrisburg, serving one term. He was nominated for Congress by the Democrats in 1858, but defeated; was elected associate judge in 1861, served one term of five years, and declined re-election. Besides these positions, in 1843-44 he was supervisor of the North Branch Canal, and afterward was collector of tolls at Berwick for three years. He was a member of the electoral college in the election of President Franklin Pierce. He was also twice appointed by the judges of his judicial district as one of the Revenue Commissioners for Pennsylvania, for the equalization of State taxes and served under two appointments. He and his wife were both members of the Presbyterian Church. They are buried in Rosemont Cemetery, Bloomsburg. They had six children: twins, died in infancy unnamed; Elizabeth, married to Simon P. KASE and died in March, 1874; Mary, married to Joseph R. VANDERSLICE; Dr. Hugh W. (see sketch); Sarah Ann, married to William E. BUCKINGHAM. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 353)

HUGH W. McREYNOLDS. M. D., Bloomsburg, is a native of Derry Township, Montour Co., Penn., born July 4, 1822, and is a son of John and Agnes (McHARD) McREYNOLDS. He received his literary education at the Danville Academy and at the select school of Andrew FOSTER, of Bloomsburg. He read medicine with Dr. A. B. WILSON of Berwick, and graduated at the University of Pennsylvania in 1848. Later he practiced with Dr. HILL a few months in Bloomsburg, then returned to college and took another course. In 1849 he began to practice at Catawissa, and continued for two years. He then went to Buckhorn and p racticed twenty-five years, and in 1876 came to Bloomsburg where he has since resided. The Doctor in 1875 was elected treasurer of his county, serving three years; is one of the trustees of the State normal school for the Sixth District. The Doctor has a wife and two children. He and his family attend the Presbyterian Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 353)

JACOB HENRY MAIZE, attorney at law, Bloomsburg was born near Sunbury, Northumberland Co., Penn., August 14, 1845, a son of David O. E. MAIZE, a miller by trade, and for some time a merchant in Sunbury, but now a resident of Boston, Mass. Our subject enlisted, August 23, 1862, in Company F, One Hundred and Forty-third Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry; was mustered in at Camp Luzerne December 4, 1862; January 1, 1863, was promoted corporal, and soon after encamped at Fort Slocum near Washington. February 17, 1863, with his regiment, he was ordered to the front and assigned to the third Division, First Army Corps. He participated in an expedition to Port Royal, where a feint was made, and was under a brisk fire for some hours there, and was in the engagements below Fredericksburg and at Chancellorsville. The regiment marched nineteen days to participate in the battle of Gettysburg, and arrived there July 1. They were in the entire three days' fight, and during the first day Mr. MAIZE was color corporal, or guard around the United States' colors in the advance, where Gen. REYNOLDS was killed. About the time Gen. REYNOLDS was killed Col. DANA ordered an advance with the colors about fifty feet or more, and the colors placed on an elevation, which was done, and immediately after placing the colors on the elevation a shell struck the colors and tore them all to pieces. At the same time a rifle ball struck the hat of Mr. MAIZE and just missed his head. The enemy fought desperately to capture the colors, but were unsuccessful. There were two color-bearers and eight guards, eight of whom were killed and wounded, our subject being one of the two left unharmed. He personally seized the colors of his regiment, and triumphantly bore them during the balance of the day's fight, delivering them to his company's officers in the evening after their retreat to Cemetery Hill, where they encamped on the night of the first day's fight. The regiment lost that day from 400 to 500 men, killed, wounded and missing. On that occasion the colors were offered to him to carry henceforth, a promotion, however, he declined, preferring to handle his gun, an excellent piece that he had affectionately named "Old Sal," and on which he had carved his mane. On this day's fight the men that were left of his company had all thrown away their rations for three days, except Mr. MAIZE, and these three days' rations were divided among the company, and was all they had to eat that night. During the succeeding two days' fight they subsisted on comparatively nothing. The afternoon of the second day they supported Sicles' corps, and the third day occupied the left center of the Union lines, and helped to repulse the rebel Gen. Pickett's famous charge. Mr. MAIZE was one of the men on that occasion at the "stone wall," where the rebel line was overthrown and turned back defeated. During this onset a comrade by his side was instantly killed, half of his head being shot off, the body falling partly against our subject. After this memorable battle, the results of which did so much to stem the tide of rebellion, Mr. MAIZE was detailed on recruiting service, and so served until the close of the war, and was mustered out June 26, 1865. After his return to civil life he followed merchandising until 1879. He had, however, in 1866, registered with M. E. JACKSON, Esq., to read law, and in 1875 with Robert F. CLARK, Esq., of Bloomsburg; and again in September, 1879, with Hon. C. R. BUCKALEW, and was admitted too the bar in February, 1881, and since then has practiced at Bloomsburg. In 1880 he was elected and served three years as justice of the peace, when he resigned. Mr. MAIZE was married to Miss Blanche A. CAMPBELL, daughter of James and Elmira J. CAMPBELL of Beach Haven, Luzerne Co., Penn., April 30, 1868, and they have three children living, viz.: Annie Elmira MAIZE, Edith MAIZE and Boyd Freeze MAIZE. He is a thirty-second degree Mason, a member of the Episcopal Church since 1869, and a member of the vestry for the last two years. In politics he is a stanch Democrat, taking considerable interest in the election of county officers, and more especially in State and National, from the close of the war in 1865 down to the present time, by advocating the principles of his party and the qualities of his man. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 354

CHARLES W. MILLER, attorney, Bloomsburg, was born at Mifflinville November 20, 1844, a son of Stephen H. and Lavina (KLINE) MILLER. He graduated at the State normal school, Millersville, and registered in the office of William G. HURLEY, of Bloomsburg, as a law student, in 1865; in 1867 was admitted to the bar, and the same year began to practice at Bloomsburg. He is a democrat, politically, and has served Bloomsburg in the council and school board. In addition to his legal business, Mr. MILLER has been identified with the various improvements in the place, one of the organizers of the Water, Gas & Steam Company, and School-Desk Company. He is secretary of the Gas Company and also a member of the Board of Trade. Mr. MILLER married Miss Cora L. ESHLEMAN, of Schulykill County. He is a member of the Knight Templars; F. & A. M.; I. O. O. F., and of the Presbyterian Church. He is also a member of the board of directors of the State normal school and has been for twelve or fifteen years and was largely instrumental in securing the sewage and telephone system to Bloomsburg. His grandfather, Isaac KLINE, was an early settler of Columbia County; was a prominent man and served in the Pennsylvania Legislature; his son, Hiram R. KLINE, was also a member of the Legislature. Abraham and Anna Charity (KRAMER) KLINE, the great-grandparents of Mr. MILLER, lived to be upward of ninety years of age. They came from New Jersey up the West Branch to Milton, and thence cut their way to the end of Knob Mountain. They had five sons and one daughter, and settled two miles north of Orangeville on the left bank of Fishing creek, where they built a frame house, which was occupied by three generations of their descendants, and is still standing. Their younger son, Isaac, the grandfather of Mr. MILLER, married Mary WILLITT, whose mother's maiden name was BRITTON. Mr. and Mrs. KLINE had seven daughters and three sons, all of whom married and lived to middle age. Lavina married Stephen H. MILLER, and they became the parents of our subject. Elmira married M. C. VANCE, whose grandparents, George and Martha VANCE, came from Donegal, Ireland in 1804, and settled in Bloomsburg, and later moved to the banks of Fishing creek west of Orangeville. John VANCE, their eldest son, married Effie PATTERSON, whose parents came from Scotland about 1800. George VANCE erected a house that is now occupied by M. C. VANCE, the third generation. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 354)

STUART MITCHELL, D. D., was born in Bucks County, Penn. His parents dying while he was an infant, he was adopted and reared in Philadelphia by his aunt, Martha Mitchell STUART, and her husband, James STUART. After some boyish experience of business life he entered the University of Pensylvania [sic] and graduated with first honors, and then studied theology in the seminary at Princeton, N. J. He began his ministerial work at Warsaw, N. Y., and continued it as a home missionary at Newport and Kilbourn City, Wis., and subsequently as a district missionary of the Presbyterian Board for Wisconsin and Minnesota. On account of feeble health he gave up his work and traveled in Europe and the East; returning to Philadelphia he supplied the Second Presbyterian Church of Altoona for a year. In 1872 he was installed pastor of the church at Bloomsburg. He was married first to Miss Jane F. PATTERSON, of Warsaw, N. Y., who accompanied him to Wisconsin and died in western New York; afterward he married Miss C. Janet PETRIKIN of Muncy, Penn. They have two daughters, named Renee and Margaret. He has published "The Church, its Constitution and Government" (Presbyterian Board of Pub.,) "Jonah the Selfwilled Prophet" (Randolph), and some smaller treatises. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 354)

WILLIAM NEAL, of the firm of NEAL & Sons, Bloomsburg, is a native of what is now Muncy, Lycoming Co., Penn., born September 8, 1812, a son of John and Mary (McKELVY) NEAL. His mother died when he was an infant, and his father died when he was a small boy. He became a member of the family of his uncle, William McKELVY, at the age of ten years, though he came to Bloomsburg with his grandmother, Mrs. Phoebe (McKELVY) BOYD, with whom he lived until her death. He was a member of his uncle's family until 1839. In February of that year he married Catherine, a daughter of Casper and Mary CHRISTMAN. He was educated at the subscription schools of Bloomsburg, and became a clerk for his uncle at the age of fifteen, and spent one summer under the tuition of William G. HARLEY, Esq., and Dr. Ebenezer DANIELS. He continued as clerk until the age of twenty-two, and in November, 1834, was given a salary, and in 1840 became a half partner in his uncle's business. This partnership continued until 1852, the firm being known as William McKELVY & Co. In January, 1852, I. W. McKELVY, son of his partner, was taken into the business and the firm became McKELVY, NEAL & Co., and so continued until January, 1873. In 1853 William McKELVY, William NEAL and Jacob MELLICK, the latter having one-fourth interest, erected an iron furnace, which is still known as "Bloom Furnace." In 1872 Mr. NEAL bought out Mr. MELLICK, and the next year Mr. McKELVY's interest, but sold his own interest in the store. The same year he took in his sons, Clinton W. (a graduate of Lafayette College) and Robert C. (a graduate of the Troy Polytechnic) into the furnace business, under the firm name of William NEAL & Sons. The product in 1854 was between 6,000 and 7,000 tons, and at present is about 9,000 tons annually. The firm now employ about forty men, but when they mine their own ore have employment for about 200. Mr. NEAL is a member of the Presbyterian Church, has been trustee for twenty years, and is also an elder in the same. He is a Republican politically. One of his sons, C. W., served as quartermaster of a regiment in the civil war. His children by his first wife are Clinton W., who married Emma, a daughter of William SNYDER, of Bloomsburg; Mary C., who died at about four years of age; Harriet M., wife of Ephraim ELWELL, and Robert C., married To Ella CLARK, a daughter of Robert C. CLARK, of Bloomsburg. Mrs. NEAL died in January, 1850, and in June, 1854, Mr. NEAL married Mary L., daughter of John C. BOYDE, and she bore him the following children: James B., a graduate of Yale College and post-graduate of Yale scientific, and of the medical university of Philadelphia, is now a medical missionary in China, where he and his wife (a daughter of Rev. W. SIMONTON, of Emmitsburg, Md.), now reside; and Anna M., wife of Morris S. SHIPLEY, of Cincinnati; and Montgomery B. (died in infancy). The NEALs are of Scotch-Irish descent. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 354)

CLINTON W. NEAL, Bloomsburg, one of the proprietors of the "Bloom furnace," was born in Bloomsburg, this county, November 9, 1839, a son of William NEAL. He obtained his education in the schools of Bloomsburg, and in 1858 became a student in Lafayette College, where he was graduated in 1861. Subsequently he was employed in mercantile business, and in 1867 established a wholesale and retail coal business. In 1870 he formed a partnership with his brother, Robert C. NEAL, under the firm name of C. W. NEAL & Bro., and in the year 1873 with his brother bought one-half of the entire plant of the Bloom furnace, his father retaining one-half interest, which they have conducted up to date. Robert C. NEAL is also treasurer and secretary of the Tyrone Iron Company. Our subject was married in 1870 to Emma H. SNYDER, a daughter of William SNYDER, of Bloomsburg, this county. They have four children, but three living: William S., Grace L. and Mabel R. His wife, Emma H., died January 8, 1887, of meningitis. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 355)

DR. RUSSELL R. PARK came from Ireland and located at Jerseytown as a boarder with John FUNSTON. The Doctor began practicing medicine at once, and is thought to have been the first resident physician in that part of the county; his practice extended for many miles, even as far as Bloomsburg, Light Street and Orangeville. He married Martha, a daughter of the Rev. Caleb HOPKINS, and reared and educated a large family of children, only one of whom is in this portion of the country--Mrs. ALEXANDER, of Danville. He died June 5, 1851, aged seventy-four years and six months, and was buried in the cemetery of the Episcopal Church of Bloomsburg, together with his wife and son William, and was later removed to Rosemont Cemetery, Bloomsburg, Penn. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 355)

GEORGE MATTHEW QUICK, deputy prothonotary of Columbia County, Bloomsburg, is a native of Montour Township, this county, born November 15, 1856, a son of William Grier and Sarah (McBRIDE) QUICK. His grandparents, John H. and Sarah (MOORE) QUICK, both natives of New Jersey, settled in Montour Township in 1831, the former of whom was a boot and shoemaker, which trade he carried on all his life there, in connection with a farm of 155 acres that he owned and operated. He was a honored citizen in his day, and a thorough Presbyterian. He died aged sixty years, and he and his wife are buried in Rosemont Cemetery. William Grier QUICK, their son, was born in Rush Township, Northumberland Co., Penn., September 4, 1815. He was a shoemaker and farmer, owning forty acres in Montour Township, this county, and was in the employ of the State as foreman of a division of the north branch of the Pennsylvania Canal, extending from Danville to Stony Town, for about nineteen years. Subsequently he was employed by the Wyoming Valley and the Pennsylvania Canal Company, respectively ten and eleven years, as supervisor, making in all about forty years in which he served as an official on this canal. In 1868 he was elected county commissioner, serving three years. He died March 4, 1879. His widow, Sarah (McBRIDE) QUICK, still (1886) survives. George M. QUICK was educated in the schools of Montour Township, and finished his studies by an academic course at the Bloomsburg Normal School. Subsequently he was in the employ of the Pennsylvania Canal Company as a sub-foreman for seven or eight years; at his father's death he was appointed foreman, and served from March, 1879, to January, 1880. He then resigned to accept his present position as deputy prothonotary. Mr. QUICK was married, December 27, 1877, to Eva BIDLEMAN, and they have two children: William Grier and Clarence Eugene, respectively aged six years and twelve months. Mr. QUICK and family are attendants of the Lutheran Church. Since his appointment, in 1880, he has acted in his present position with the exception of one year, and is well and widely known throughout the county as a prompt, courteous and popular official. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 355)

WILLIAM RABB, grocer, Bloomsburg, was born in Lubeck, Prussia, January 3, 1828, son of Frederick and Caroline (YOUNG) RABB, who came to the United States in 1839 and settled in Little York, York Co., Penn. There Frederick, who was a baker, followed his trade, and in 1842 moved to Bloomsburg, where he also established a bakery and subsequently was interested in a pottery in partnership with his son-in-law, John REAM. He was a member of the Lutheran Church; he died in 1872, his wife in 1870. They are both buried in Rosemont Cemetery. They had seven children, only one of whom was born in this country; Augustus, William, Lewis, (died at the age of two years), two infants (twins--deceased), Hannah (died at the age of fourteen) and Charles. William RABB when young learned the cabinet-maker's trade, and when twenty-one years old established himself in business at Bloomsburg. He continued it for about thirty years, when he bought a farm about seven miles from town, and operated it three years. He then returned to Bloomsburg and has carried on a general grocery store since. Mr. RABB is a Democrat and has served as a member of the town council eight years, and in 1887 was elected one of the board of school directors of that town. He married in 1856 Abigail J. BELL, and they have five children: Luther I., married Camilla DE SHEPPARD, of Philadelphia; Martha A.; Clara E., married to Charles WELLIVER, of Morris, Tioga County; Ida V. and Charles W. Mr. and Mrs. RABB are members of the Lutheran Church. William RABB has been successful in his business. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 356)

DR. I. L. RABB, the dentist, was born September 19, 1856, in Bloomsburg. Graduated from the Philadelphia Dental College in the spring of 1877. He married July 19, 1877, Camelia E. DE SHEPPARD, of Philadelphia, and three children have been born to them: Fredericka, Inaz Sneden and William A. Dr. RABB is master of the dental profession and has a practice second to none in Bloomsburg. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and in politics a Democrat. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 356)

JOSIAH RALSTON, of the Bloomsburg Iron Company, Bloomsburg, was born January 1, 1838, in Glasgow, Scotland. His father, James RALSTON, was also a native of that city, born in 1791, and there married Martha POULTNEY, who bore him nine children: Agnes, Robert, James, Hugh, Susannah, John, Martha, William and Josiah, all of whom were born in Glasgow. When our subject was three months old his parents with their family arrived at New York and located soon afterward at Farrandsville, Penn. On the invention of the hot blast, which worked such a revolution in the iron trade, James RALSTON was the first to put it in practical operation. He was then in the employ of the Clyde Iron Company at Dunlap, Scotland. The Company placed their No. 3 furnace at his use. In 1836 an agent of the Farrandsville (Penn.) Iron Company, visited Mr. RALSTON and induced him to try his fortunes in the United States and bring out hot blast pipes with him. He accordingly had them made at Glasgow and took passage on the South Carolina ship, "Leonore," arriving at New York in February, and at Farrandsville, Penn., in the early spring of 1837. Here he superintended the erection of machinery and started the first successful hot blast one this continent. He was soon engaged at the pioneer furnace at Pottsville, Penn., to try smelting iron with anthracite; was assigned by Benjamin PERRY, and succeeded with the celebrated ninety-day blast, beginning October 20, 1839, and terminating January 18, 1840. This was about the first successful attempt to use anthracite coal in the blast furnace; next he put the Valley furnace in operation and then removed to the Roaring creek furnace. In 1845 he superintended the "lining up" and "blowing in" of the Irondale furnace (which had never been excelled for successful working) to the time of his death, May 19, 1864, at Irondale. There he had resided and superintended the adjacent furnaces for nineteen years. He was well and favorably known throughout the iron regions as a thorough and practical master of his business. Josiah RALSTON, our subject, at twenty had completed learning the machinist trade and soon after entered the employ of the Bloomsburg Iron Company as superintendent of the furnaces, which position he has since held. He married in 1862, Sarah L. HOZENBACH, and two children, Edward Elmer and Roy Rodman, were born to them. Mrs. RALSTON died October 1, 1880. Mr. RALSTON next married March 14, 1882, Elizabeth HEIST. The family attend the services of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics Mr. RALSTON is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 356)

DR. JOHN RAMSAY (deceased). The parents of Dr. RAMSAY were natives of Scotland, the mother's maiden name being BAXTER. They emigrated and settled in Chester County, Penn., where our subject was reared. Dr. RAMSAY was married at Orwigsburg, Schuylkill Co., Penn., in 1830 to Mary Ann DOWNING; located in Bloomsburg in 1831, and there practiced until his death. He died in February, 1863, aged sixty three years. His widow died December 30, 1883, aged sixty-nine years. They left a family of seven children: Deborah J., wife of C. W. McKELVY; Josephine, wife of G. N. WILLETS; James H.; Charles P.; Anna D., wife of C. C. HAGENBUCH; William P., married to Elizabeth RAMSAY, a cousin; Robert N., married to Mary SALLADE. Dr. RAMSAY was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, and first began to practice at Birdsboro, near Reading, and afterward at Port Carbon, being in the two places three years. While at the latter place he was married and soon after came to Bloomsburg. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 356)

WILLIAM M. REBER, M. D., Bloomsburg, is a native of Lewisburg, Union Co., Penn., born in 1842, a son of David and Margaret (MUSSER) REBER, of that county, the former of German and the latter of Scotch-Irish extraction. Our subject attended the schools of Lewisburg, and finished his studies at the university of that place. At the age of eighteen he began reading medicine in the office of Dr. HAYES, where he remained one year. The next he spent in the office of Dr. PANCOAST of Philadelphia, and graduated at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in March, 1863. In April succeeding he was appointed surgeon in the United States Navy, assigned to the Naval Hospital at Norfolk, Va., and subsequently to the gunboat squadron on the Ohio River, but was stationed mostly on the receiving ship, "Grampus," at Cincinnati, Ohio. In the fall of 1865 he was assigned to the Naval Hospital at Brooklyn, and in the spring of 1866 was assigned to the United States steamer "Lackawanna," which proceeded on a cruise to the Sandwich Islands, and which extended over two and one-half years. He returned in the fall of 1866, and in December of that year resigned. He located in Bloomsburg, and in February, 1869, resumed the practice of his profession. The Doctor was married in the fall of 1871 to Miss Elizabeth McKINNEY, of Bloomsburg. They have two children: Edith McKinney and William McKelvy. The Doctor is a member of the Presbyterian Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 357)

WILLIAM ROBISON, (deceased), the father of James Boyd ROBISON was born at McVeytown, Penn., January 19, 1789, a son of Alexander and Elizabeth (McKEE) ROBISON. His mother became a widow, married a Mr. BARBER, and died in the house of her son William in Columbia County. They were all of Scotch-Irish descent and Presbyterians in religion. William ROBISON came to this county in 1810 and married Betsy BARTON January 30, 1816. When he first came to this county he located near Orangeville and kept a store. Subsequently he moved to Bloomsburg and carried on a tannery with his brother John. From 1826 to 1840 he conducted a hotel, and retired from business in 1855. He was appointed sheriff of Columbia County in 1822 and served for some time. While in the hotel business, and after, he owned and operated several lines of stages and was extensively known throughout the county. He was a Whig in politics. In the contest to remove the county seat from Danville he took a prominent and active part, at one time being a member of a committee to present the claims of Bloomsburg to the Legislature at Harrisburg, and accomplished his purpose against Valentine BEST, then speaker of the House. He died at Bloomsburg in 1866. His wife was born January 30, 1799, and died June 9, 1877; both are buried in Rosemont Cemetery. They had a family of thirteen children, of whom all except one grew to manhood or womanhood; Alexander, born November 2, 1816, married to Mary E. THOMPSON, November 19, 1850, died at Mauch Chunk, in April, 1878; Jane McKEE, born January 19, 1819, married September 18, 1848, to Lynd ELLIOTT; Anna Maria, born November 25, 1820, married August 29, 1848, to Ariovistus PARDEE, of Hazleton; Martha E., born January 1, 1823, married October 12, 1854, to Andrew M. RUPERT, and died April 4, 1874; Harriet, born November 6, 1824, and married May 24, 1860, to Charles E. FRAZER, now lives in San Francisco, Cal.; Ellen, born December 24, 1826, married to Dr. William B. HAWKINS, June 1, 1848, died in October, 1884; Emily, born February 8, 1829, married to George B. MARKLE, January 19, 1848; Isabella, born February 15, 1831, married, January 7, 1869, to Nathaniel L. CAMPBELL, and died April 17, 1873 (she was during the war a volunteer nurse, serving the entire four years); William Barton, born September 21, 1833, died October 5, 1837; Mary Augusta, born January 25, 1836; James Boyd, born January 3, 1838, married October 16, 1873, to Mary Jane BREECE; Isaiah B., born January 10, 1840, was killed while leading his company at the battle of Peach Tree Creek, July 20, 1864--he enlisted in the Union Army June 28, 1861, as sergeant, and at his death was first lieutenant; Hannah Amelia, born June 13, 1844, and married June 13, 1866, to Frederick E. BARBER, now living at McPherson, Kas. William ROBISON presented to the county one-third of the lot on which the court-house now stands, the other two-thirds were given by Elisha BIGGS. Mr. ROBISON was several times nominated for the Legislature and associate judge, but, being in the minority, party was defeated. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 357)

JAMES BOYD ROBISON, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, was born at Bloomsburg, January 3, 1838, a son of William and Betsy (BARTON) ROBISON. His father being a merchant, he assisted in the store when quite young and acquired an academic education at Bloomsburg. When sixteen years of age in January, 1854, he taught a school in Mifflin Township three months, and August 19, 1854, received the first permanent certificate issued by the county superintendent of Carbon County, and followed by teaching a seven months' term in the Summit Hill District, same county. In 1855 he served on an engineer corps for two months, laying out the Yeddo Branch of the Hazelton Railroad, and in the fall of 1855 became a student at Lafayette College at Easton, where he remained two years, subsequently, in 1867, receiving the degree of A. M. He went to Washington, D. C., and was engaged in writing patents for the land office for five months. He was then engaged three months keeping books for his brother at Mauch Chunk. In 1858 and the summer of 1859 he spent in Illinois, teaching in Tazewell County, and part of the time in selling books through Henry and Mercer Counties, and during that time attended various political meetings addressed by Abraham Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas in their famous senatorial contest. The day after the State election deciding that contest, Mr. ROBISON suggested the nomination of Lincoln for President; that was in 1858. In August, 1859, he came to Mercer, Mercer County, this State, and began reading law with Jason T. GIEBNER, Esq., and paid his way while a student by clerking in the sheriff's office, in that place. In the spring of 1861, when Ft. Sumter was fired upon, he announced his intention of entering the service. The following day he drew up an enlistment paper for the Mercer Rifles, a military company, heading the list with his own name. This company was organized as Company G, tenth Regiment Pennsylvania Reserve Volunteer Corps, enlisting three years. They left the town June 11, 1861, under Capt. (afterward Gen.) WARNER of silver bill fame. Mr. ROBISON was appointed sergeant of the company, and participated in all the Seven Days' battle and in the second bull Run battle, in which engagement he was wounded in the left hand, which disabled him to such an extent that he was sent to the hospital; discharged December 18, 1862. In June, 1863, Company H, Thirty-fifth Regiment emergency men, was organized in Columbia County, and on its arrival at Harrisburg the captain was promoted to major, and Mr. ROBISON was elected to the captaincy. This company remained in service until August, and was on duty from Gettysburg to Greencastle. On his return to civil life Mr. ROBISON resumed bookkeeping for his brother a short time, when he returned to Mercer, resumed his legal studies, and was admitted too the bar at Mercer in November, 1863. He then taught school at Sandy Lake that winter. June 1, 1864, he went to Washington, D. C., and became a clerk under Capt. J. T. GIEBNER in the commissionery department, and was assigned to the Ninteenth [sic] Army Corps, under Sheridan in the Shenandoah Valley. September 26, he was captured by rebel stragglers, kept by guerrillas some time, and, October 17, placed in Libby prison and confined there until February 17, 1865. When Mr. ROBISON first enlisted in 1861, he was examined by an army surgeon, and declared unfit for military service on account of heart disease, the surgeon saying he would not live through the excitement of an engagement, and was only accepted after earnest solicitations from him. The result proves that even doctors are sometimes at fault. On his return to Mercer in 1865 he was elected district attorney, served one year of court and resigned; then he removed to St. Louis, and engaged in the real estate business for one year. In 1867 he located at Bloomsburg and began the practice of law; was appointed United States commissioner and served some three or four years, resigning the office in 1872. He was notary public from 1872 to 1875, and has also served his town three terms as corporation counsel or solicitor. In 1870 he was nominated by the Republicans for the Legislature: in 1880 was nominated for Congress by the Greenback party, and received double the number of votes WEAVER had for President: was a candidate again in 1884. Mr. ROBINSON is a Knight Templar and in the thirty-second degree Scottish rite, and has served the order in nearly all of its various offices: is a member of the Patrons of Husbandry, and of the G. A. R. Colonel Ent Post of Bloomsburg. From 1880 to 1885, he was engaged in operating a farm about four miles South of Catawissa. He has been a member of the Presbyterian Church since 1866. He was married October 16, 1873, to Miss Jennie Breece of Bloomsburg, a successful teacher, a daughter of Daniel Breece. They have seven children - four girls and three boys: Martha E., James Boyd, Bessie May; Isaiah (deceased), William Daniel, Jennie B. and Emily. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 357)

LEONARD BRIGHT RUPERT, Bloomsburg. John Philip RUPERT, the first of the family to come to America, was a native of Germany, born near Guttenburg, in January, 1838. He emigrated as a soldier in 1754, and served four years in the British Army in the French-English war. On the outbreak of the Revolution he became an active and zealous supporter of the American cause, served in the militia as an officer, and was in the army stationed near Trenton at the capture of the Hessians; was also at the battle of Brandywine, and died at Catawissa August 6, 1829, aged ninety-one years. He lived and died in the religious faith of the Reformed Church, and for a long time served as a ruling elder. He married, December 14, 1762, Catherine, daughter of Michael and Catherine ROSCH. To this union were born fourteen children, the eldest being Leonard RUPERT, born at Reading, Penn., October 11, 1763. He also served in the Revolution as a fifer on the war ship "Hyder Ali" under command of Com. Barney, and was in a naval engagement during that war with the British man-of-war "Wasp." He married Sally BRIGHT in March, 1876; moved and located at the mouth of Fishing Creek, in what is now Montour Township, Columbia County, in 1788, on 220 acres that were bought by his father-in-law, Michael BRIGHT, some years prior, and which was originally purchased by John SPOHN December 31, 1769. This land is now partly occupied by the village of Rupert, and the farming portion left is still owned by the descendants. A daughter of Leonard RUPERT, Mrs. Rupert PAXTON, is now (December 26, 1886) one hundred years old. This land was deeded October 12, 1774 to Michael BRIGHT. Leonard RUPERT died March 11, 1848, and his wife March 17 of the same year. They are buried in Rosemont Cemetery. They had a family of twelve children. Leonard was a man of more than ordinary ability; was self-educated, and served as colonel in the State militia for several years. He was elected about 1804, and served eleven years in the House of Representatives; first at Lancaster and afterward at Harrisburg. He also served for many years as associate judge, and in other local offices. He was reared in the faith of the Reformed Church, but about 1818 united with the Presbyterian Church, to which many of his descendants still adhere. Their children were Catherine, born December 26, 1786, at Reading, married Col. Joseph PAXTON; Peter, born September, 1788, in this county, married Catherine DHIEL; Rebecca, September 26, 1790, married Maj. James SHEARER; Bright, born August 18, 1793, died in 1815; Mary, born April 7, 1795, died unmarried in 1857; Sarah, March 20, 1797, died in 1817; Rhoda Ann, September 26, 1801, died in April, 1875, unmarried; Lavina, September 2, 1803, died in December, 1846, unmarried; Harriet, born January 2, 1806, resides at Bloomsburg; Charles, March 23, 1808, died February 9, 1831; Leonard B., born June 19, 1810; Elizabeth, born July 23, 1799, married Thomas W. LLOYD, and died April 5, 1882. Leonard Bright RUPERT became a clerk in William McKELVY's store when eighteen years of age. After his marriage he farmed the old homestead for five years, and then opened a general store at Bloomsburg in 1845, which he continued for twelve years. He then retired. Mr. RUPERT is a Democrat, and was appointed in 1839 or 1840 as county treasurer to fill a vacancy caused by the death of the treasurer, and when the appointment expired he was elected to the office for one year and re-elected for two years. He was elected associate judge November 10, 1851, and served five years. He was subsequently appointed justice of the peace, and served a year and a half; was president of the town council two terms (1884 and 1885), and held other local offices. Mr. and Mrs. RUPERT have had nine children, four of whom died young, five are still living: Clara, born December 17, 1832, married November 9, 1858, Dr. W. H. PARK of Springfield, Mo.; Sarah, born November 29, 1834, married Daniel STICK December 28, 1859; Ata, born may 24, 1846, married I. K. MILLER February 16, 1870; Leonard Barton, born January 8, 1849, married Mary Riswig January 26, 1876, and live in Republic County, Kas.; and Eva, born November 1, 1851, lives at home. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 358)

JOHN C. RUTTER, M. D., Bloomsburg, was born near Wilmington, Del., December 12, 1826, a son of Thomas, a farmer, and Sarah (BAKER) RUTTER. At fourteen years of age he left his father's house and lived with his grandmother in Newcastle Hundred, in the meantime attending the schools of the neighborhood until seventeen. He was then employed as a clerk in Wilmington, and at twenty-one began reading medicine in the office of Dr. Caleb HARLAN of that city. He subsequently graduated at the Homeopathic Medical College of Pennsylvania (now known as the Hahnemann) March 3, 1855. The following May he located at Bloomsburg, where he has been in constant practice since, and has enjoyed a large patronage. The Doctor was married August 26, 1848, to Jane CLAYTON of his native place, a daughter of John and Ann (PERKINS) CLAYTON. John CLAYTON was a carpenter by trade; carried on that business in Brandywine Hundred and in Wilmington, Del. He lost his first wife by death in 1857 in Delaware, and was married again and moved to Monroe County, Penn., where he died in 1875, near Strasburg, aged about seventy years. Dr. and Mrs. RUTTER have a family of eight children: the eldest, Lamartine, married a Miss RODEMOYER, and lives in Bellefonte, Penn.; Henry Harlan married a Miss CLOUD, and is editor and proprietor of the Hughesville Mail; Everett WEBSTER, M. D., residing in Luzerne County; Mary Ella, wife of Dr. D. W. CONNER of Wilkesbarre; Adah Louisa, wife of Newton W. BARTON; Margaret; Rachel M. (single), and John Croghan, a printer connected with the editorial department of the Democratic Sentinel at Bloomsburg, and married to a daughter of Dr. J. B. McKELVY February 17, 1887. the family attend St. Paul's Episcopal Church at Bloomsburg. The Doctor is the pioneer homeopathic physician of Columbia County, being the first of that school to practice within its boundaries. He has always been a firm and consistent temperance advocate on all occasions. Politically, he is a Democratic. His grandfather, Joshua RUTTER, was a native of England and came to this country with a brother, Thomas, who became a merchant at Baltimore previous to, or about 1790. Joshua located on a farm near Baltimore City. His wife's name was Elizabeth and they reared a family of two sons and two daughters. The sons were John and Thomas, the father of Dr. RUTTER, and who was born about 1792 and died in 1848, near Chester, Delaware Co., Penn., aged fifty-six years. The daughters were Margery and Mary. Joshua's wife was a native of Sweden, and they were probably married near Baltimore. The grandfather of the Doctor on the maternal side was John BAKER, whose wife was Lydia MARKS. He was a plasterer by trade, and carried on the business in Brandywine Hundred, Newcastle Co., Del., all his life. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 359)

William M. SHAFFER, farmer, Bloomsburg, was born in Montour County, July 8, 1835, and is of English and Scotch ancestry. His father, Samuel SHAFFER, was born in 1809 in Lewisburg, Penn., and was a son of Matthias SHAFFER, for many years toll-keeper at Lewisburg. Samuel learned the trade of a cooper, came to this county in 1848, and contracted for getting out limestone for the Bloomsburg Iron Company six years. He subsequently became a large landholder, owned some 250 acres near Bloomsburg (our subject living on 100 acres of it), and 140 acres at Millville. In early life he was a Methodist, but later he joined the Lutheran Church, and died July 31, 1881, leaving a large estate. He married, when not quite twenty, Margaret CULP, a daughter of Peter CULP of Montour County, Penn. They had twelve children, ten now living: Mary, married to Michael SNYDER; Henry, married to Catherine WHITENIGHT; Matthias, married to Mary ZEIGLER; David, married to Hester JOHNSON; William M., our subject; Samuel, Jr., married to Catherine ZEIGLER; John, married to Lydia A. LEE; Jane, married to Benjamin LEE; Simon C., married to Sarah CULP, and Charles, married to Elizabeth ZEIGLER. April 8, 1858, our subject married Catherine A., daughter of Thomas FRY, and by this union seven children were born: Hiram A., born February 20, 1859; Mary M., born June 13, 1860, now the widow of Paul CADMAN, and has one child, Pauline; Hester J., born February 16, 1862; Henry, born April 20, 1864; Thomas, born December 16, 1867; Ellen, born June 16, 1868; William, born October 6, 1869. The mother of this family died October 27, 1869, a member of the Reformed Church, and was buried in Rosemont Cemetery. Mr. SHAFFER's second marriage took place December 2, 1872, with Mary JOHNSON, a daughter of David JOHNSON of Beaver, this county, and by this union there is one child, Martha E., born September 25, 1873. Mr. SHAFFER is a Republican, a member of the Lutheran Church. He is a farmer and has ninety-three acres under cultivation. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, pg. 360-361)

JOSEPH SHARPLESS, Bloomsburg, is descended from John SHARPLESS, a native of England who immigrated to America about two months before the first coming of William Penn, and settled in Chester, Delaware Co., Penn. The first of his descendants to come to Columbia County, was his great-grandson, Benjamin SHARPLESS. The family were originally members of the society of Friends. Benjamin was born in 1764 in Chester County, and died in 1857. When a young man he crossed the mountains and settled in Sunbury, where he bought and operated a grist-mill, and also taught school for some time. He subsequently moved to Catawissa, where he purchased a farm and also a grist-mill adjoining, now the site of the paper-mill at Catawissa. Here he established a paper-mill and paid for years nine cents per pound for white rags, and manufactured paper by hand. When young he learned the saddler's trade, but never followed it in this county, except to make his own harness. He married Hannah BONSELL, also a member of the society of Friends, and by this union there were eleven children, two of whom died young. Those who grew too maturity were as follows: Mary Ann, deceased wife of Dr. WADSWORTH of Catawissa, this county; Eliza, unmarried, and now eighty-three years old; Edward, married first to Betsy ROTH, and after her death to Nancy PANCOAST, now a resident of Marion, Ohio; William was three times married, and now resides at Catawissa; Joseph, married Mary E. FOSTER of Catawissa; John, married Sally A. HARTER; Harriet, married George REIFSNYDER; Sarah, married Louis YETTER; and Kersey married Mary Margaret HARDER. Joseph SHARPLESS of Bloomsburg was born December 6, 1808, and reared to the paper-mill business with his father, with whom he remained until twenty-six years of age. He then began on his own account and has been identified with the business interests of Bloomsburg and of the county since, and for thirty years conducted what was known as the SHARPLESS Foundry, at Bloomsburg. Several years ago he sold the foundry to his son, and has now retired from active business. Mr. SHARPLESS is a Republican and has served his vicinity in such local offices as member of the council, school director, and during the war was an earnest supporter of the Union cause. Mr. and Mrs. SHARPLESS have had nine children, seven of whom grew up: Harriet R., born February 23, 1837; Lloyd T., born March 18,1839, married Mattie WAGGENSELLER; Benjamin F. born May 22, 1841, married Sophia HARTMAN; Loretta A., born January 4, 1843, married Jefferson VANDERSLICE, of Ford County, Kas.; Clara, born November 12, 1844, died April 4, 1849; Elizabeth A., born September 7, 1846, married Wesley EYRE of Bloomsburg; Araminta E., born November 24, 1848, married Jasper WILSON; Mary Ellen, born October 16, 1852, died September 9, 1855, and Harry F., born October 4, 1863, now in Ford County, Kas. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 359)

BENJAMIN F. SHARPLESS, proprietor of the Eagle Iron Works, Bloomsburg, is a native of Locust Township, this county, born in 1841, a son of Joseph and Mary E. (FOSTER) SHARPLESS. At the age of twenty years (in 1861) he enlisted in Company A, Sixth Regiment Pennsylvania Reserves, served about three years and participated in the following engagements: Dranesville, second Bull Run, South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Bristoe's Station, New Hope Church and the battles of the Wilderness. At Antietam he was wounded by a bullet, the force of which, however, was spent by striking his belt and accoutrements, otherwise it would have passed through his body. He was mustered out June 13, 1864, returned to Bloomsburg, and six months after began learning the trade of an iron molder. That was in January, 1865, and in April 1868, he formed a partnership with Mr. HARMAN, under the firm name of SHARPLESS & HARMAN, and bought the foundry of Joseph SHARPLESS, Three years afterward the partnership was dissolved, and our subject has conducted the business alone up to the present time. Mr. SHARPLESS was married, in 1866, to Sophia HARTMAN, a daughter of Charles HARTMAN. Mr. and Mrs. SHARPLESS have four children: Joseph L., Charles H., Ray F. and Arthur W. Mr. SHARPLESS is a member of the Methodist Church, and in politics is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 360)

LAFOREST ALMOND SHATTUCK, M. D., proprietor of the Bloomsburg (Penn.) Sanitarium, was born in Cornville, Somerset Co., Me., January 15, 1846. He obtained his literary education at the schools of his native town and at the Skowhegan Academy. When but fifteen years of age he began teaching school and in 1862 began to read medicine in the office of Dr. Green at the Boston Medical Institute, where he had excellent opportunities to study surgery and surgical diseases. A year later he entered the medical department of Harvard, and for five years in college and hospitals was a close student in the allopathic school. In 1868 he took two courses of medical lectures at Philadelphia, graduating with honors. Being ambitious and desirous of a greater knowledge of the eclectic system of practice, then attracting considerable attention, he entered the Eclectic Medical College of the city of New York where he received the ad eundem degree in 1869. He then commenced the practice of his profession at Augusta, Me., making a specialty of surgical diseases and soon came into prominence through his success in critical operations considered impossible of achievement by older surgeons. In 1870, in addition to his professional duties, he assumed the editorial charge of the American Literary Review, which he ably conducted until the spring of 1871, when failing health compelled him to relinquish all business cares and take a much needed rest. In the autumn of that year, being desirous of a larger field of practice, he decided to locate at Chicago, and started for his new field of labor in September. While remaining over for a week at New York City to attend the National Medical Convention as a delegate from the Maine Eclec[t]ic Medical Society, of which he was secretary, the great fire at Chicago occurred, which decided him to remain East. It was at this time he was urged by the president of his New York alma mater to accept the chair of demonstrator of anatomy at that college, but modestly declined, and proceeded at once to locate for the general practice of his profession at Bridgeport, Conn., where he enjoyed a large and lucrative practice for eleven years, and where he attracted attention, not only as a skillful surgeon, but for his remarkable success in diphtheria and his discovery of a remedy for the cure of Bright's disease. In the autumn of 1882, his health again breaking down through overwork and the influence of the coastal climate, he sold out at Bridgeport and purchased the institution at Bloomsburg, a sanitarium possessing superior facilities, such as baths of all kinds, mental and physical rest, massage, electricity, Swedish movements, etc., for the treatment of nervous, kidney and chronic diseases, in which he has acquired a high reputation. Dr. SHATTUCK comes of good old New England stock, being the eldest son of Luther Tarbell SHATTUCK, who, with Prof. SHATTUCK of Harvard College, Judge David O. SHATTUCK, the Whig candidate for governor of Mississippi in 1841, Lemuel SHATTUCK, the historian and compiler of SHATTUCK's memorials, Judge Francis W. SHATTUCK, of California, Judge Joel PARKER of Cambridge, Mass., Hon. John A. DIX, and the Rev. Morgan DIX, of New York, were descendants of William SHATTUCK [Shattuck Memorials, pages 57 to 289,] who died in Watertown, Mass. Dr. SHATTUCK was married, April 17, 1872, to Miss Ella Frances MOSHER of Augusta, Me., an estimable and talented lady, connected with some of the best families in Maine and one of the heirs of the English Mosher estate. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 361)

M. C. SLOAN & BRO., carriage manufacturers, Bloomsburg. The firm consists of M. C. and C. P. SLOAN, and the business was established in 1826 by William SLOAN, father of the present proprietors. His shop stood on the site of the present Lutheran Church building on Market Street, and he manufactured the first "Dearborn wagon" in this vicinity. He followed manufacturing large numbers yearly, employing men who would start with fifteen or twenty and sell them throughout the country. In 1832 he erected the shops occupied by the present firm, with the exception of the wood shop, which was burnt and rebuilt in 1843. He was born near Lime Ridge, this county, and died in 1864, aged seventy two years. His wife, whose maiden name was Margaret THORNTON, was a native of Bloomsburg, died in 1875, and both are buried in resonant Cemetery, Bloomsburg. In early life he was a carpenter and while stopping at a hotel in Bloomsburg, a man named WELLS, a wagon-maker, came along. Up to that time there were no one-horse wagons in the neighborhood, and the landlord insisted on WELLS making one, so Mr. SLOAN accompanied WELLS to his (SLOAN's) farm, adjoining town, and from the fences secured sufficient seasoned oak timber to make one. This was the first one-horse wagon ever made in Bloomsburg, and was after the style commonly known as "Dearborn." This was the start of Mr. SLOAN's long and successful career as a carriage manufacturer. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 361)

M. C. SLOAN was born at Bloomsburg in 1826, and after acquiring a good education in the Bloomsburg schools he learned the carriage-making business, and in April, 1853, became a partner with his father under the firm name of William SLOAN & Son, and has ever since been identified with the business as proprietor. He was married in 1853 to Miss Emily PURSEL, and they have the following named children: Maggie T. (now Mrs. W. C. McKINNEY, Dodge City, Kas.), W. Clark, Anne W. and Morris R. Mr SLOAN is a substantial and enterprising business man. The present firm of M. C. SLOAN & Bro. was formed in 1864 after the death of their father, and manufactures the finest kind of light work. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 361)

CHARLES P. SLOAN was born March 12, 1840, and recieved his education in the schools of his native place. At the age of eighteen he began learning the trade of carriage trimming and painting. In 1862 he enlisted, and was appointed sergeant in Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-second Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and six weeks later participated in the battle of Antietam; also was in engagements at Fredericksburg and at Chancellorsville. He had enlisted but for nine months, and at the expiration of his term returned to Bloomsburg, and has since been engaged in the carriage business. Mr. SLOAN was married in 1863 to Phoebe A. LOTT, a daughter of Dr. G. W. LOTT of Orangeville. They have four children: Hattie L., Frank H., Lilla G. and George G. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 361)

SAMUEL SMITH, sheriff of Columbia County, Bloomsburg, is a native of Butler Township, Luzerne Co., Penn., born May 8, 1841, a son of William and Elizabeth (WASHBURN) SMITH. The former was a native of New Jersey and came with his father, Samuel SMITH, to Luzerne County when he was a boy of six years. He was a prominent farmer and when his son Samuel was but three years old moved to Nescopeck, where our subject was reared until the age of eighteen years; then he began learning the blacksmith trade at White Haven, Penn., with his uncle, John WASHBURN, and after completing the same carried on the business in Nescopeck Township for four years. He was then employed by the Dupont Powder Company at Wapwallopen for two years. In 1869 he moved to Fishing Creek Township, this county, where he bought a farm and carried it on for fourteen years. In 1883 he moved to Stillwater and followed blacksmithing for three years. Mr. SMITH is a Democrat and has for the past ten years, taken an active and influential part in the politics of the county. He served Fishingcreek six years as member of the school board, and in 1885 was elected sheriff of Columbia County, and is the present incumbent. He married in 1861 Hannah HARTER, and thirteen children have been born to them: Aaron Freeze (deceased), Alice Margaret, William Jacob, Clara Ann, Eudora, John Clark, Albert Newton, Amanda Ella, Samuel Theodore, Charles Day and Daisy Delphine (twins), Leona Mabelle and Hannah Edna. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 361)

DANIEL SNYDER (deceased), 1783-1855, was born in Northampton County, Penn., and was a son of John and Elizabeth (STICKLER) SNYDER, also natives of the same county, and he was one of six children, viz.: Catharine, married to Gen. Robert BROWN, a gallant soldier of the Revolutionary war, elected to Congress several terms; Susan, married to Philip WOLFE; Mollie, married to Harness NEELEY; John, a tanner at Watsontown, Northumberland County, where he died; Peter and Jacob. Our subject attended the English schools of his native county but a short time, and when about twenty-one years of age his father died, and he and a brother entered into a partnership on a farm. In one year Daniel became dissatisfied with farm life and withdrew to learn the tanner's trade. In 1809 he married Mary Magdalene MICKLEY, born April 2, 1792, in Allentown, Penn., daughter of Peter MICKLEY, who was born January 18, 1772, and Sarah BIERY MICKLEY, born January 30, 1773 (Peter MICKLEY was a grandson of John Jacob MICKLEY (or MICHELET) who came from Amsterdam, Holland, in the ship "Hope," of London, arriving in Philadelphia, August 28, 1733). Mr. and Mrs. MICKLEY had the following named children: Mary M.; Catharine, married to Daniel BERKHOLDER; Sarah; Hannah; Susan; Christina; Jacob, and Charles. In 1810 Daniel SNYDER came to Columbia County and bought twenty-six acres lying now within the limits of Bloomsburg, paying for the same L550 (550 pounds). He returned to Northampton County for his wife, and was told that the little stream which ran through his new farm in Columbia County, on which he intended to locate a tannery, would occasionally run dry. He for a time contemplated giving up his claim. Finally he started on a second trip to accomplish his original purpose. On the route he met Squire HUTCHINSON, who was going to Easton with a load of wheat, and the Squire assured him that the stream was a never-failing one. Fully convinced, he returned to Easton and employed Squire HUTCHINSON to haul him, his family and all to the little log cabin, which stood where now Second and East Streets, Bloomsburg, meet. He brought with him some leather, which he hoped to exchange for hides, but everybody who had pelts for sale wanted money, and Mr. SNYDER, having only $100 left after erecting his tannery, was a second time discouraged, because he had to pay money for hides and sell leather on trust. A Mr. WERTMAN, who lived near, observed the pluck manifested by our subject, and offered him a few hundred dollars, which sum was accepted, and with which the foundation of his future success was laid. In ten years he was able to build a two-story brick house, and later turned it into a hotel, known as the "Forks Hotel." He subsequently rented it and moved into another property erected by him. His industry and economy added daily to his possessions, and aside from the tannery he owned considerable town property and five or six large farms, before his death. He was elected to the State Legislature a number of terms, and worked with all the energies in his power to secure the county seat at Bloomsburg. History tells in this work his complete success. His ever faithful consort, who still survives, blessed him with ten children: John, born December 3, 1810; William, born March 12, 1813, married first to Regina WORMAN, second to Mary FUNK; Sarah A., who married Dr. William PETRIKIN, the father of Mrs. Gen. W. H. ENT, mentioned elsewhere; Melvina, who married Elisha BARTON, the father of Mrs. Alice JOHN and Mrs. Dr. LAZARUS; Polly, born July 24, 1821; Daniel, born April 19, 1824, married Sarah W. CREVELING, by whom he has Clinton C., a civil engineer, now in Florida; Mary B., married to William MILENS who lives in this county, and Anna, who died young. (Daniel has followed the planing-mill business and is now a farmer and resides in Bloomsburg, and his aged mother lives with him. He has been overseer of the poor and is a worthy, upright man); Matilda, born January 18, 1827, married Rev. Henry FUNK, a Reformed minister, the father of Nevin U. FUNK, mentioned elsewhere; Mary C., born September 18, 1829, married Dr. F. C. HARRISON; Martha Alice, who married Dr. T. C. HARTER; Clinton B., born June 22, 1837, and died single December 13, 1852. In this volume appears an elegant steel portrait of Hon. Daniel SNYDER, made from the latest photograph that could be found. It was contributed by Daniel SNYDER, Nevin U. FUNK, Mrs. Melvina BARTON, Mrs. Sarah A. PETRIKIN, Mrs. Dr. HARTER, C. W. NEAL and Frank P. BILLMEYER. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 362)

WILLIAM SNYDER, born march 12, 1813, died October 11, 1867, married first to Regina WORMAN (by whom he had two children, both now deceased, to wit: Charles W. SNYDER and Emma H., who was the wife of Mr. Clinton W. NEAL), secondly, to Mary FUNK (by whom he had one child, Anna Dora, now the wife of F. P. BILLMEYER). William succeeded to the tanning business of his father, which he pursued with vigor and great financial success, and became one of the leading business men of his native town of Bloomsburg, and one of its most wealthy and substantial citizens. Every enterprise that had for its object the promotion of the best interests of his fellow-citizens, and the improvement of his town found in him a strong support. His purse, as well as his mind and hand, was ready for every worthy object. He was one of the chief promoters and contributors to the erection of the Bloomsburg Literary Institute, which grew and expanded into the now beautiful and stately normal school of the Sixth District. Besides giving his counsel and labor and thousands of dollars to this great and noble educational project, he with his sister, Mrs. Martha Alice HARTER, donated the beautiful and extensive grounds attached to this institution. He was its first treasurer, in which office he continued to the time of his death. He laid out the William SNYDER addition to the town of Bloomsburg, and it was while he was engaged in this and other plans of kindred public improvement that he was called away to his rest. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 363)

WM. H. SNYDER , prothonotary of Columbia County, Penn., was born in Orange Township in 1840, a son of John and Catharine SNYDER. His father, a native of Berks County, Penn., of German descent, when a boy came to Columbia County. He was a stone-mason and plasterer by occupation, and served as constable of Orange Township for seventeen years. He was elected sheriff of said county in 1852, and re-elected in 1858, serving in all two terms or six years. He was a member of the Lutheran Church, and died in 1878 aged sixty-seven years. He was married to Miss Catharine, a daughter of Henry WOLF, who also came to Columbia from Berks County, where he had been engaged in teaching German school. Mrs. SNYDER is still living at Orangeville at the age of seventy-eight years. They had eleven children--four boys and seven girls--three of whom are dead: Mary C., Frank R. and John H. Wm. H. SNYDER was educated at the Orangeville Academy and Greenwood Seminary, and began public school-teaching while a minor, which profession he followed for fourteen years. In 1872 he was elected county superintendent of public schools of Columbia County, which position he held for three terms or nine years, then declined serving longer. During this time he registered as law student with E. R. IKELER, Esq., and was admitted in 1882; was elected prothonotary in 1884, which position he holds at present. He was married in 1868 to Miss Sarah M. FLECKENSTINE, daughter of Nathan and Catharine FLECKENSTINE, of Orangeville. Her ancestors are also of German descent; her father is a member of the Reformed and her mother of the Lutheran Church. Mr. and Mrs. SNYDER had six children, of whom but one, Paul R., an infant, is living. John B. died in 1879; Willie R. in 1881, and Jennie C., Charles J. and George R. but a few weeks apart, of diphtheria, at Orangeville in 1884. They were aged respectively sixteen, thirteen and nearly two years. All are buried in Orangeville Cemetery. Jennie C. was a member of the Reformed Church, of which her parents are members. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 363)

GEORGE W. STERNER, register and recorder of Columbia County, Bloomsburg, is a native of Madison Township, this county, born April 2, 1846, a son of John S. and Juda (TRUMP) STERNER. His father is a contractor and builder and has carried on that business extensively in Bloomsburg, and through the county from 1837 to the present time (1886), besides brick-making and farming. George W. was educated in the public schools and normal school of Bloomsburg, also attended Dickinson Seminary at Williamsport, two years, and one year the State Institute at Ypsilanti, Mich. After finishing his studies he engaged in teaching, and followed that profession for thirteen terms, six of which were spent in Bloomsburg. He was married August 6, 1873, to Mary A., a daughter of Ira DAVENPORT, a merchant and banker at Plymouth, Luzerne Co., Penn. In 1874 he built the large store-building on the northeast corner of Second Street and Murray's Alley, part of which he occupies as a residence. In that year also he began the business of a contractor and builder, brick-maker, etc., which he followed until the fall of 1877. He has always taken an active part in the politics of the county, and in 1868 was a delegate to the county convention, also served in that capacity for several consecutive years. In 1875 he was elected assessor in the west district of Bloomsburg, and was a member of the Bloomsburg Council. In 1878 he was a candidate, though not nominated, but in 1881 was nominated and elected register and recorder; re-elected in 1884, and is the present incumbent. To the duties of his office he is very attentive; his books and records are models of neatness, and his courteous treatment of all who have business with him, whether official or otherwise, is the well deserved cause of his universal popularity, not only as a trusted public official, but as an honored and respected citizen. As an ardent Democrat there is none more loyal to his party; as a citizen he is enterprising and substantial, and as a soldier he was brave and patriotic. At the age of sixteen he enlisted in Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-second Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and was mustered in August 6, 1862, for nine months. The regiment was soon ordered to Camp Whipple near Washington; was part of the reserve at second Bull Run, and was afterward attached to Gens. Sumner's and Couch's corps, Third Division, Third Brigade of the Army of the Potomac. He participated in the battles of Antietam, Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville, and on the expiration of his term of service, returned home. August 31, 1864, he enlisted for one year in Company E, Two Hundred and Ninth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, in which he was appointed second sergeant of the company and subsequently color-bearer sergeant of the regiment. The regiment reported at Bermuda Hundred and participated in skirmishes in and around that vicinity, and afterward took part in the fight at Hatcher's Run, Fort Steadman and in the charge on the enemy's works in front of Petersburg, Va., April 1, 1865, and subsequently was engaged with the Army of the Potomac until the surrender of Lee at Appomattox. After the battle of Petersburg he was in command of the company until mustered out May 31, 1865, when he returned home and resumed the occupation mentioned previously, remaining, however, with his father until of age. Our subject's religious convictions are Methodist. Mr. and Mrs. STERNER have four children: Hattie E., John D., Mabel Estella and Mary Edna. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 363)

G. W. SUPLEE, Bloomsburg, was born in Chester County, Penn., July 29, 1825, to Samuel and Catherine (RINEWALT) SUPLEE. The SUPLEE family are of French extraction but for several generations have been residents of Pennsylvania and have followed farming. Samuel was born and reared in Chester County, where he married Miss Catherine RINEWALT, also a native of the same county. To them were born five children, four now living: George W.; Emeline, widow of Charles H. SOPER of Los Angeles, Cal.; John R., in Lawrence, Kas., and Mary, wife of Robert EVANS, in Philadelphia. Sarah is deceased. Samuel SUPLEE died April 23, 1875; his widow survived him just ten years, dying April 23, 1885. They are buried in the Green Tree Church graveyard, in Upper Providence Township, Montgomery County. He had farmed in that township until ten years before his death, when he and his wife removed to Philadelphia, where he lived a retired life. Our subject was reared to the age of nine years in Chester County, when his parents moved to Philadelphia, and three years later to Montgomery County, where he lived until the age of thirty-two years; then he bought a farm in Anthony Township, Montour County, and farmed here for eight years. He then sold out and bought a farm in Madison Township, Columbia County, where he resided until April, 1886, when he bought a residence property in Bloomsburg, moving to the city and renting his farm. He married in Montgomery County, April 4, 1852, Miss Sarah HAMER, a native of Montgomery County, and daughter of Humphrey and Mary HAMER. When Mrs. SUPLEE was a child her mother died, and her father in 1845. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. SUPLEE, four of whom are living: Antoinette, wife of Cyrus De MOTT, in Madison Township; Gertrude, wife of Albert GIRTON in Madison Township; Horace G. and Annie. The deceased are Emeline, Mary Catherine, Sallie Wells and George, who was accidentally killed by falling from a window of the normal school where he was a student, January 25, 1884. Mr. and Mrs. SUPLEE are members of the Baptist Church. While a resident of Montour County, he was justice of the peace for one term, and held many township offices while a resident of Madison Township, Columbia County. He has a farm in that township of 135 acres. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 364)

WILLIAM R. TUBBS, proprietor of the Exchange Hotel, Bloomsburg, was born in Wetherly, Carbon County, in 1835, a son of William A. and Elizabeth (HENRITZY)TUBBS. When a young man he learned the watch-making business, and in 1862 engaged in keeping hotel at Shickshinny, which he continued three years. In 1868 he took the Rupert Hotel and conducted it, except one year, until 1878, when he leased the Exchange Hotel at Bloomsburg, buying the furniture. This house has sixty-five rooms, with all modern conveniences and heated throughout with steam (and all the improvements have been made by Mr. TUBBS), and was the first really first-class hotel established in Bloomsburg. Mr. TUBBS married in 1862, Margaret, a daughter of Samuel HARMON. The HARMON family is an old one in the history of Columbia County. Mrs. TUBBS' father resided many years at Mifflin, and was a thorough hotel man. The Exchange Hotel is fitted throughout in the most approved style. The kitchen is a model of cleanliness, the pastry room adjoins, while close by is a large refrigerator fitted with compartments or rooms like a house; the dining-room is large, light and pleasant, while the parlors and sample rooms on the first floor are commodious and well furnished. The upper floors are arranged in sleeping apartments and suites of rooms, with bath rooms adjoining. The hotel is one of the best conducted in the State and is deservedly popular with the traveling public. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 364)

REV. D. J. WALLER was born January 15, 1815, at Wilkesbarre, Pennsylvania. His parents were Phineas, born at Wyoming in January, 1774; son of Nathan and Elizabeth (WEEKS) WALLER, and Elizabeth, born October 9, 1780, daughter of Dr. David H. and Patience (BULKLEY) JEWETT, of New London, Conn. David JEWETT, the father of David H., was born June 10, 1714, and was graduated from Harvard College in 1735. He was a chaplain in the British Army, and subsequently served in the same capacity in Washington's army. Nathan WALLER was a soldier in the Revolution in the continental service and was the first of the name to settle with his family at Wilkesbarre. The subject of this sketch spent his boyhood in his native town, pursuing his early education at the academy in Wilkesbarre until the age of fifteen, when he entered Williams College, from which he was graduated in 1834. In the fall of that year he entered Princeton Theological Seminary, from which he was graduated in 1837. In the following year he began his work in the ministry at Bloomsburg, assuming the pastorate of the church there and supplying all the English Presbyterian Churches between Danville and Wilkesbarre, as well as those in the valleys of Fishing creek. For thirty-three years he proved indefatigable in this work, eventually introducing four additional workers in the field to care for as many separate charges. In 1848 the present brick place of worship in Bloomsburg, built under his direction at a cost of $3,100, was dedicated. In 1871, when the Bloomsburg Church had reached the point of self sustentation, Mr. WALLER resigned his pastorate, but still occasionally preaches a his health will permit. It was with considerable reluctance that he laid down the active work of the ministry, but after the arduous labor of so many years, having achieved the object of his original mission, he felt that the demands of his growing family called upon him to devote his energies to their care and education. During the active part of his ministry Mr. WALLER found ample scope for the employment of the energy and executive ability with which a Divine providence has blessed him. Notwithstanding the arduous character of his early missionary work, he interested himself and others in procuring advanced educational privileges for the community. He was chiefly instrumental in founding a classical school in Bloomsburg in 1839, securing his brother, C. P. WALLER, as principal. This gentleman, subsequently president judge in Wayne and Pike Counties and now deceased, was admirably fitted for the work, and laid a foundation on which the State normal school was subsequently erected. Mr. WALLER's interest in the educational features of Bloomsburg have not languished since this initial effort, and in all the history of the growth of secondary instruction in the county seat is found his guiding and supporting influence. His contribution to this school reached $3,500. But while thus engaged in fostering the educational and religious interests of the community with which he had cast his lot, he could truthfully appreciate the poet's lines, "Homo sum; nil humani a me alienum puto." He came to Bloomsburg at the time when the movement for the removal of the county seat was at its ebb tied and the most sanguine of its supports were about to despair. He espoused the sinking cause with undaunted courage, and with the co-operation of Dr. John RAMSAY and William McKELVY succeeded in bouying the stranded movement to the deeper waters which led to eventual success. Since devoting his attention more exclusively to business matters his career has been remarkable in that, after devoting the active years of this life to the seclusion of the study, he has proved so eminently successful in ventures which have always taxed the abilities of those especially trained for the particular service. In all his enterprises Mr. WALLER has evinced a public spirit which has accrued too the highest advantage of the town of his residence. On leaving the ministry he devoted his attention to farming with eminent success. He s November 16, 1844, died June 13, 1845; David Jewett, born June 17, 1846; William Patterson, born January 20, 1848, died April 22, same year; Levi Ellmaker, born July 16, 1851; George Phillips, born April 2, 1854; Julia, wife of Charles W. HAND, and Laura PETTIT. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 365)

REV. DR. D. J. WALLER, JR., principal of the State normal school, at Bloomsburg, his native place, was born in 1846. He prepared for college at the Bloomsburg Literary Institute, and graduated from Lafayette College in 1870, where he was tutor one year. He resigned this office to enter Princeton theological Seminary in 1871, and was graduated at Union Theological Seminary of New York City in 1874. During 1874 and 1875 he was pastor of the Logan Square Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia; then accepted the pastoral charge of the Presbyterian congregation at Orangeville, Rohrsburg and Raven Creek for one and a half years. Subsequently, in 1877, he was elected principal of the State normal school. Under his administration the affairs of that institution have had a constant, steady and prosperous growth. Dr. WALLER justly holds an enviable reputation throughout the country as a thorough scholar, educator and Christian gentleman. He was married May 14, 1874, to Anna APPELMAN, a daughter of Matthias S. and Lydia (BILLIG) APPLEMAN, and seven children blessed their union. The family attend the services of the Presbyterian Church. In politics Mr. WALLER is a straight out Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 366)

L. E. WALLER, attorney, Bloomsburg, was educated at Lafayette College, where he graduated in 1873. In 1874 he began reading law with Hon. C. R. BUCKALEW, the following year attended Columbia Law School and in 1876 was admitted to the bar. He began practice in 1877 and has served as solicitor for the town of Bloomsburg two years, and has been a member of the council two years. He married in 1881 Miss Alice M. BUCKALEW. Mr. WALLER is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and politically a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 366)

HIESTER VANDERSLICE WHITE, attorney at law, of Bloomsburg, was born in Orange Township, June 27, 1858, a son of John M. and Tacy E. (VANDERSLICE) WHITE. He obtained his literary education in the schools of his vicinity, the Orangeville Academy and at Bloomsburg Normal School. He registered as a law student September 2, 1879, with Col. J. C. FREEZE, and was admitted to the bar December 6, 1881. January 1, 1881, he became a partner with Col. FREEZE and M. F. EYERLY to continue three years under the firm name of FREEZE, EYERLY & WHITE. At that time Mr. WHITE bought the valuable law library of Col FREEZE and on termination of the partnership continued in the practice of his profession. At the age of fifteen Mr. WHITE began teaching school and followed the profession until he was admitted to the bar. He is the manager of the grain shipping business of H. V. WHITE & Co., handling on an average 150,000 bushels of grain per annum, shipping mostly to the mills and mining sections. He married, January 4, 1884, Clara E., daughter of Levi ACKMAN, and of an old family of the county. Mr. WHITE has been secretary three years of the Columbia County Agricultural, Horticultural and Mechanical Association, and is now trustee of the Pennsylvania State College in Centre County. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 366)

GEORGE E. WILBUR, professor of higher mathematics and history in the State Normal School, Bloomsburg, is a native of what is now Waverly, Lackawanna Co., Penn. His father, Rev. John F. WILBUR, is a minister of the Methodist denomination and resides at Peckville, Lackawanna County. Prof. WILBUR prepared for college at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, and when nineteen years of age became a student at Dickinson College, where he took a classical, scientific and law course, graduating in 1873. At the age of twenty-five, in 1875, he came to Bloomsburg and held the position of principal of the public schools two years. He then filled the chair of ancient languages, history and civil government in the normal for seven years, when he was transferred to his present chair. The Professor married in October, 1874, Miss Fredericka, daughter of Rev. F. L. HILLER, then pastor of Central Methodist Episcopal Church at Wilkesbarre. Three children have been born to this union; Fred, born February 14, 1877; Harry, born December 19, 1881, and Elmer, born August 23, 1884. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 366)

ISAIAH W. WILLITS, M. D., Bloomsburg, was born at Catawissa, May 22, 1843, a son of George H. and Jane (CLARK) WILLITS. He attended the schools of his native village until twelve years of age, followed by two years at the select school at Bloomsburg of Eaton & Wells. He then attended the seminary at Millville, one year, and completed his literary studies by a year at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, Luzerne County. On leaving school he entered the general store of W. BITTENBENDER & Co., of which firm his father was a silent partner, and there remained two years. In 1861 he was employed with D. G. DRIESBACH, of Beach Haven, with whom he remained until 1862. August 8, of that year, he enlisted in Company H, One Hundred and Thirty-second Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and on the organization of the company was elected orderly sergeant. December 9, he was promoted first lieutenant, and participated in the battles of Antietam and Fredericksburg (where he was severely wounded in the left knee by a piece of shell, disabling him for several months), and afterward at Chancellorsville. His term of nine months' enlistment having expired he returned home and raised a company, afterward known as Company E., Thirtieth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and on its muster, June 20, 1863, he was elected its captain. The regiment was assigned to the department of the Susquehanna under Gen. D. N. COUCH, and during its term of enlistment, six months, was assigned principally to guard duty on the Cumberland Valley Railroad and other duty in Pennsylvania. On leaving the army in the fall of 1863 our subject began reading medicine with Dr. J. K. ROBBINS of Catawissa, and in 1864 became a student at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia. In 1866 he began to practice at Centralia and in 1868 moved and practiced at Catawissa. In 1874 he took a third term at Jefferson Medical College, where he graduated in the spring of 1875. He returned to Catawissa and followed his profession there until August 1, 1883, when he removed to Roanoak, Va., and remained until March, 1885. He then came to Bloomsburg and opened an office, where he has established a successful practice. The Doctor has been twice married: first, march 29, 1866, to Marcella R. REIFSNYDER, of Catawissa, who died November 2, 1877; secondly, to Mrs. K. P. REIFSNYDER, nee SCOTT, April 9, 1879. George H. WILLITS was a native of Catawissa; a tanner by trade, which he followed for a short time when young, but for many years was a contractor. He built a half-mile section of the Pennsylvania Canal, and was also largely interested in operating coal mines in Schulykill County. Subsequently he discontinued the above interest and bought 300 acres of land opposite Catawissa, where he reared his family, but the last few years of his life he lived retired at Catawissa. He was an honored and respected citizen, a Republican, and served as associate judge of Columbia County five years, being the only Republican that ever held that office by the vote of the people. He also served his vicinity in various local offices, and died March 22, 1881. His widow died January 11, 1883, and both are buried in the Friend's burying ground at Catawissa. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 366)

LLOYD S. WINTERSTEEN, attorney, Bloomsburg, is a native of Mifflinville, born November 2, 1849. He obtained his literary education in the schools of his native place, and subsequently took a commercial course at Hazleton Commercial College, and in Hazleton was in the employ of A. PARDEE & Co. as bookkeeper, and was from 1874 to 1877 superintendent of the colliery of C. PARDEE & Co., at Hollywood, near Hazleton. In 1876 he began the study of law and in June, 1877, entered the law office of E. P. KISNER, Esq., of Wilkesbarre, Penn., as a student, and in July, 1877, he became a student in the office of Col. S. KNORR, and was admitted to the Columbia County bar in September, 1879. Soon after he was appointed deputy prothonotary, and served until March 2, 1880, when he formed a law partnership with Col. KNORR, which still continues. Mr. WINTERSTEEN is a son of Joseph O. and Lydia (WOLFE) WINTERSTEEN. His father is of Holland descent, born at Forty Fort, Luzerne County, and was for many years a blacksmith and auctioneer. Lydia WOLFE was a daughter of Christian WOLFE, an early settler of that section, and a prominent citizen and formerly county commissioner. Our subject was married April 16, 1885, to Miss Ada E., daughter of J. J. BROWER. Politically, Mr. WINTERSTEEN is a Republican. He served three years as a notary public from 1879 to 1882, and January 25, 1887, was re-appointed by Gov. BEAVER. Mrs. WINTERSTEEN is a member of the Episcopal Church. Mr. WINTERSTEEN attends the same church but is not a member. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 367)

JOHN WOLF, dealer in agricultural implements, Bloomsburg, was born November 27, 1834, in Mifflin Township, this county, to Abraham and Catherine (HILL) WOLF, the parents of three children. John WOLF was educated in the common schools of his native township and was brought up in rural pursuits. At the early age of fourteen years the sole management of the "Old Homestead" of 150 acres devolved upon him, and success followed his industry and economy. In 1865 he engaged in mercantile business in Bloomsburg, which he continued for fifteen years with his usual success. In 1880 he began dealing in agricultural implements in Bloomsburg and has established a large trade. He has given his personal attention to the business and has made his patrons permanent ones. February 9, 1854, he was married to Mary P. POHE, born June 9, 1837, daughter of Joseph POHE, whose portrait appears in this volume. By this union he has three children, viz.: Mrs. Hudson J. KASE, Mrs. Henry G. HUPPERT, Mrs. Harry E. ESHLEMAN. He was drafted but exempted from the late war, and has been a stanch advocate of the principles of the Republican party since its inception. Since locating in Bloomsburg he has been identified with the public improvements of the city and is an honest, upright citizen. He and family are strict adherents of the Lutheran Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 367)

ALFRED N. YOST, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, is a native of Fishingcreek Township, born in 1855, a son of David and Sarah C. (CREVELING) YOST, for a long time residents of this county. His grandfather, Samuel YOST, settled Fishingcreek this county, about 1840. Our subject received his education in the schools of the vicinity and at the Orangeville Academy. He taught school for seven terms in Luzerne County, and while teaching he registered as a law student in 1880 with E. R. IKELER, and was admitted to the bar at Bloomsburg in 1884. Since then he has practiced there. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 367)

B. FRANK ZARR, attorney, Bloomsburg, is a native of Catawissa, this country, [sic] born December 31, 1843, a son of Benjamin and Hannah (RENINGER) ZARR, the former of whom, born in Berks County in 1810, came with his parents, George and Catharine (KEIFER) ZARR, to Catawissa, where they settled in 1811 on a farm on which the southern part of Catawissa now stands. Our subject was reared on a farm until eight years of age, and when a youth, began learning the paper-making business in the paper-mill at Catawissa. Unfortunately, while employed around the machinery, he became accidentally entangled with it, necessitating the amputation of the right arm at the shoulder. He was then but seventeen years of age, and was obliged on account of the accident to somewhat change the plan of his future life. He exerted himself to obtain a thorough education, and attended the Greenwood Seminary at Millville, and the Millersville State Normal School; subsequently he taught school in Columbia and Schulykill Counties for seven years. In 1869 he began reading law with Col. J. G. FREEZE of Bloomsburg, and was admitted to the bar in February, 1872. In 1869 Mr. ZARR was appointed deputy prothonotary of the county, under Gen. W. H. ENT, and served as such for twenty-three months. In December, 1872, he was elected prothonotary of the county, and re-elected in 1875, serving six years and one month. In 1879 he resumed the practice of his profession, which he has continued up to date. Mr. ZARR has also served in various local offices; is now president of the town council of Bloomsburg, and has taken a prominent and active part in the educational interests of the county, and in securing good school buildings to the place. He also served some eleven years as member of the school board of Bloomsburg. He was elected and served for some time as deputy superintendent of public schools, under C. G. BARKLEY, Esq. Mr. ZARR is also interested in agriculture, owning two farms near the village, one of which he personally superintends. He is a member of the Lutheran Church. In 1866 he married Fanny C. PERSON, and they have two sons and one daughter: Robert Rush, Josephine and Frank Person. Mr. ZARR has been an elder in his church for upward of seven years. Sunday-school superintendent for same length of time. He was the youngest man ever elected to the office of prothonotary in the county of Columbia. The ZARRs came from the eastern part of France, and settled in America at a very early date. The name was originally spelled SCAR. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 368)

RECEIVED TOO LATE TO BE INSERTED IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER

T. C. HARTER, M. D., Bloomsburg, was born at Nescopeck, Luzerne Co., Penn., November 10, 1850. In 1872 he attended school at Dickinson Seminary, and afterward came to Bloomsburg where he studied medicine with Dr. B. F. GARDNER. He graduated at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Md., in 1880, after which he practiced medicine at Espy and Bloomsburg two years, and then at Nescopeck, Luzerne County, until August 26, 1886, when he sold out at the latter place, and at present is traveling. The Doctor expects to take a special course in New York on diseases of the throat, heart and lungs, after which he will settle at Bloomsburg, where he will follow his profession. The Doctor has already become noted for his successful treatment of diseases of the throat and lungs, especially diphtheria. He has shown much skill as a surgeon, and has bright promises for the near future in his chosen profession. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, pg. 368)

Back to

COLUMBIA COUNTY BIOS

MONTOUR COUNTY BIOS

SOME OTHER BIOGRAPHIES

HISTORY OF COLUMBIA COUNTY

HISTORY OF MONTOUR COUNTY

 
 

 
MY FILE CABINET
FAMILY LINES
JOWEST